Author Topic: Electrical Question  (Read 1338 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Brian Livingstone

  • Posts: 224
Electrical Question
« on: November 29, 2022, 02:55 PM »
Hi,

I recently built a new 28 by 30 workshop.  I have a 60 amp service running off my main house panel of 200 amps. 

I just bought a new dust collector that draws 23 amps.  I will run this with my 22 amp planer.  I am being told this will not work with my 60 amp service, based on the high draw at start up.

Could anyone weigh in if this makes sense.  It seems like overkill that I now need an entire new service, based on my new dust collector.

Based in Nova Scotia, Canada.

Thank you.

Brian
Kapex, TS75, MFT, OF1010, OF2200, DTS400 REQ, Parallel guide rails, 800, 1080, 1400, 1900, 3000 guide rail, Domino 500, CT36, CT Midi, , RS2E, RO150, Boom Arm, Crown stops, 6 drawer Sortainer, Carvex, Syslite II, Festool safety glasses must start to wear.

Offline Michael Kellough

  • Posts: 5873
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2022, 03:19 PM »
It should work as long as you start up one of the machines about 5 seconds before the other.
I think the worst that might happen if both started simultaneously is the breaker trips.

Offline Alanbach

  • Posts: 742
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2022, 04:27 PM »
Are each of these tools on a separate 30 amp breaker of their own? If they are then I agree with Michael, just start the DC first and let it come up to speed before you fire up the planer. If they will share a circuit then I would tend to agree that it wont work without adding another dedicated circuit for the DC. Whether or not you have room for another circuit both due to open slots and for load would have to be determined by a licensed electrician familiar with requirements in your area. I am no electrical expert, just a guy that has owned, modified and improved many shop spaces over my years of woodworking.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2022, 04:33 PM by Alanbach »

Offline ChuckS

  • Posts: 4251
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2022, 04:33 PM »
Since whatever load the combined machines will produce is protected by the breaker, I'd test operate them before spending any money on the panel circuit.

I have had experiences where the actual loads on the panel were different from what they were supposed to be based on the machine specs. In those cases, the short start-ups didn't cause any trouble.

Offline WastedP

  • Posts: 438
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2022, 04:39 PM »
Also not an electrician, but if you convert either machine (if possible) to 220V, won't the amp draw go way down?

Offline Alanbach

  • Posts: 742
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2022, 04:48 PM »
@Brian Livingstone - Can you clarify for us what size circuit (volts and amps) your planer currently runs on and if you are trying to add a circuit for the DC or run them both off of the existing circuit?

Offline Brian Livingstone

  • Posts: 224
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2022, 04:49 PM »
I am installing a separate 30 amp circuit/ breaker for the dust collector.  I’ll start both machines separately.

Thanks everyone.

Brian
Kapex, TS75, MFT, OF1010, OF2200, DTS400 REQ, Parallel guide rails, 800, 1080, 1400, 1900, 3000 guide rail, Domino 500, CT36, CT Midi, , RS2E, RO150, Boom Arm, Crown stops, 6 drawer Sortainer, Carvex, Syslite II, Festool safety glasses must start to wear.

Offline rvieceli

  • Posts: 1848
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2022, 04:54 PM »
Brian - It would be rare that you would turn on two machines at exactly the same time. In real life there will be a pause between the startups. Try it and see what happens.

You have gotten reasonable suggestions, but a bit more info would probably be helpful.

When you say 60 amp service to the shop, how is that accomplished? Is it a 60 amp breaker in your main house that feeds wire to the shop and terminates in a sub panel with breakers in the panel?

What gauge wire did you use for the feed? Is there a main breaker in the sub-panel?

Ron

Offline Brian Livingstone

  • Posts: 224
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2022, 05:05 PM »
Hi Ron,

I am not sure of the gauge from the house to the
Sub panel.  Looks like a thick cable, maybe “Romax” ?

I am going to go ahead and add another 30 amp circuit and see if there is any issue.

I was thinking about adding a heat pump, but with my TS, jointer, planer, DC, BS, a wood stove may be the best alternative.
Kapex, TS75, MFT, OF1010, OF2200, DTS400 REQ, Parallel guide rails, 800, 1080, 1400, 1900, 3000 guide rail, Domino 500, CT36, CT Midi, , RS2E, RO150, Boom Arm, Crown stops, 6 drawer Sortainer, Carvex, Syslite II, Festool safety glasses must start to wear.

Offline RussellS

  • Posts: 365
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #9 on: December 07, 2022, 11:12 PM »
Going to guess some here.  I think all the answers given so far are right.  You have a 60 amp breaker in your main panel.  It feeds a subpanel in your shop.  Hopefully the wire running from the 60 amp breaker to the subpanel is correct for a 60 amp breaker.  Can't imagine why anyone with electrical knowledge would not use heavy enough wire.  Your subpanel has two 30 amp 220 volt breakers in it.  I am guessing its 220 volt because you said you have a separate 30 amp circuit for the dust collector and going to add a 30 amp circuit for the planer.  When you get to 30 amps in the USA or Canada, you are into the 220 volt area.  110 volts only go to 20 amp breakers.  220 volt has 30 amp breakers.  And 40 amp, and 50 amp, and 60 amp breakers.  So add the separate new 30 amp 220 volt breaker for the planer, and one for the dust collector.  Each on their own circuit.  Going to the 60 amp subpanel that has a 60 amp breaker at the main panel.  And then start them separately with a few seconds between starts.  Which you do naturally if you manually start a dust collector.  IF, you use one of those automatic dust collector starters, then you could have problems because you would be starting both within a second of each other.  But if you start the dust collector, then walk 10 feet over to the planer and wait an extra second or two before starting it, then you will not have any problems with the extra load at start up.

Offline smorgasbord

  • Posts: 205
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #10 on: December 08, 2022, 06:22 PM »
From where are you getting the amperage data? If from the motor nameplate, then is that FLA or FLC?

It's actually somewhat complicated, but note that motor startup isn't the issue. Here's one page to read: https://www.ecmweb.com/national-electrical-code/article/20892971/motor-calculations

I say motor startup isn't the issue because breakers tolerate short draws of power in excess of their rating. That said, for continuous duty (which I believe the NEC defines as running at that level for 3 hours or more) you'll need to upside the breaker by 25%. I know this from car charging where a 40 amp charger needs a 50 amp breaker and circuit. I assume home workshop equipment is not subject to this 3 hour rule.


Offline Brian Livingstone

  • Posts: 224
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #11 on: December 22, 2022, 06:45 PM »
Hello,

I have had my new Laguna C Flux 3 up and running now for two weeks.  So far all good when running the dust collector with my Laguna PX20.

Thanks everyone for your valued input.

Brian
Kapex, TS75, MFT, OF1010, OF2200, DTS400 REQ, Parallel guide rails, 800, 1080, 1400, 1900, 3000 guide rail, Domino 500, CT36, CT Midi, , RS2E, RO150, Boom Arm, Crown stops, 6 drawer Sortainer, Carvex, Syslite II, Festool safety glasses must start to wear.

Offline tango63

  • Posts: 4
Re: Electrical Question
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2023, 03:25 PM »
Good to hear things are working out.

From what I hear, the constant load cannot be more than 80% of the breaker. Which means 48 amps on a constant load. Both equipment probably won't pull that much amp all the time.