Festool Owners Group

GENERAL DISCUSSIONS => Other Tools & Accessories => Topic started by: JonathanJung on November 22, 2020, 12:49 PM

Title: Opinion on 37x2 Performax/Supermax drum sander
Post by: JonathanJung on November 22, 2020, 12:49 PM
Hi, I have the opportunity to get this machine for about $1,750. Is it too old, are the new ones much better, were there problems with these? The owner says he's had it 8 years with no problems, but he might not be as fussy as the next. It has variable speed, but doesn't have a DRO, the new intelisand feature, but is there anything else I should consider?

[attachimg=1]
[attachimg=2]
Title: Re: Opinion on 37x2 Performax/Supermax drum sander
Post by: JD2720 on November 22, 2020, 01:19 PM
There have been a lot of problems with getting the feed belt to track correctly on Performax sanders. The belt wants to drift to one side. Run the feed belt several revolutions to be sure it dose not move to one side or the other.
Title: Re: Opinion on 37x2 Performax/Supermax drum sander
Post by: Birdhunter on November 22, 2020, 04:44 PM
I’ve owned a 16-32 sander for many years with no issues. The advantage of the 16-32 is the open end. Once the bottom belt is adjusted, it stays in place. Adjusting it is fussy.

I can’t take bit bites with my sander. The one you are looking at is a lot heftier and can probably remove a lot of wood on every pass.

I tend to use 80 grit all the time. I have all the other grits, just don’t use them.

You might want to check on sand paper availability for that model.
Title: Re: Opinion on 37x2 Performax/Supermax drum sander
Post by: kevinculle on November 22, 2020, 05:17 PM
I also have a 16-32 and my experience is exactly the same as Birdhunter.
Title: Re: Opinion on 37x2 Performax/Supermax drum sander
Post by: neilc on November 22, 2020, 11:49 PM
I have a 16-32 as well and it’s served me very well.  I have a DRO from Wixey on it.  I also replaced the controller with an Intellisand option which makes a world of difference.   I’d contact them to see if you might b able to get the controller in parts.
Title: Re: Opinion on 37x2 Performax/Supermax drum sander
Post by: JonathanJung on November 23, 2020, 01:18 AM
Well I bought it for $1400. It ran well, the belt tracked fine, and it sanded plenty well enough for me. Thank you everyone for the info, keep it coming!
Title: Re: Opinion on 37x2 Performax/Supermax drum sander
Post by: JonathanJung on November 23, 2020, 01:18 AM
There have been a lot of problems with getting the feed belt to track correctly on Performax sanders. The belt wants to drift to one side. Run the feed belt several revolutions to be sure it dose not move to one side or the other.

Thanks for the heads up. I checked and it tracked straight.
Title: Re: Opinion on 37x2 Performax/Supermax drum sander
Post by: JonathanJung on November 23, 2020, 01:19 AM
I have a 16-32 as well and it’s served me very well.  I have a DRO from Wixey on it.  I also replaced the controller with an Intellisand option which makes a world of difference.   I’d contact them to see if you might b able to get the controller in parts.

That is a very helpful tip, I'll contact them and ask.