Festool Owners Group

GENERAL DISCUSSIONS => Other Tools & Accessories => Topic started by: 3PedalMINI on April 18, 2018, 08:40 PM

Title: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: 3PedalMINI on April 18, 2018, 08:40 PM
Some of you may have seen my other thread about getting the Incra combo number 3 System. Although it will be a while before I get it and can set it up I just received my jessem powrtek motor. There is zero information out there on this motor, just a few forum posts about it. I will try to post a video review when I get everything up in running but for now here is the unboxing pictures!

The first thing I will say is this seems to be 1-2 pounds lighter then the PC7518, don’t know if this is due to having the switch mechanism remotely located or not. Was kind of shocked to feel that though. None the less we’ll see how it performs down the line.

The motor control box is nice and solid, although it is plastic. The switch feels nice to flip and the dial also feels nice. I don’t like the mounting plate so I’m going to take it off and figure out another way to mount it. All of the connectors are sealed which is very nice!

It does come with the collets, which are tucked away in some styrofoam and easy to miss. The offset wrenches are extremely nice, heavy duty and are rubberized, they feel extremely good and  was a pleasant surprise!

That’s about it for now, here are some pics!
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: Alanbach on April 18, 2018, 10:17 PM
After years of building another router table every the last one proved incapable of some new task I finally purchased Jessen’s Master Lift Excell complete router table five or six years ago. I needed a router that could live up to this router table so I purchased their best at the time which was a specialty product that Milwaukee was making for Jessem. It is a Milwaukee model 5626-68 with a Powertek controller which is variable speed, soft start in a separate control box. I believe that the router is 3.5 HP and it is a beast. I can spin just about anything (specs say 3.5” diameter max.). I believe that what you purchased is Jessem’s attempt to better that product. Mine does not have the digital readout on the speed control and I am unaware of other differences. Anyway mine is fantastic and I can’t imagine that I could throw anything at it that it couldn’t handle. Yours will be awesome!
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: 3PedalMINI on April 20, 2018, 06:53 PM
Thanks for your feedback! I agree I don’t think jessem would put their name on junk! I’m excited! :D
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: justaguy on April 20, 2018, 07:03 PM
Mine arrives tomorrow
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: Joe Felchlin on April 24, 2018, 04:41 PM
Jessem had some distribution problems a few years ago -
And for a few years virtually “disappeared” from the U.S. market.
Thankfully they came back - ‘Cause their router table stuff is solid/terrific.

I coupled my Jessem Master Lift Excel II with a PC7518 - Mite-R-Slide, Jessem table and stand - The works. Love it.
Sounds like you’ve got an even better set-up going. ALL JESSEM.

I strongly recommend adding Jessem’s Clear-Cut Stock Guides.
I wouldn’t be without ‘em.
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: ben_r_ on April 25, 2018, 10:22 AM
LOVE Jessem products. I own several. Have been curious about the Pow-R-Tek motor, but since my PC 7518 is still going strong I just cant justify replacing it yet.
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: Alanbach on April 25, 2018, 12:37 PM
I feel the same way about my Master Lift Excell. I would love the II but no way to justify the expense and the hit I would take on selling my perfectly good excell.
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: Caboose1966 on July 03, 2018, 03:29 PM
Hi, brand new here and am hungry for any info I can find on some of the components listed in 3PedalMINI's original post.  I just purchased the full JessEm Mast-R-Lift Excel II Router Table setup, with the ALTS table, Premium TA fence as well as the Pow-R-Tek motor and power switch/speed control.  Like others have mentioned, I have been able to find very little on the Pow-R-Tek router but I was willing to take my chances due to the outboard speed control.  That will be a very nice feature once I enclose the router motor with some cabinetry.  I did read somewhere that the router is made by AUT.  I think I recall that it's a Chinese made router motor that is more common in Europe and Australia.

So... wondering what your experience has been in the last few months?  I don't get my setup until Thursday, and then it will be a few days before I get around to putting it together and trying out some routing.  Like has been mentioned already, I am pretty confident in the rest of the kit.  It all looks very nice and I have faith in JessEm.  The only wild-card is the router motor and electronics, but I'm hoping they had some confidence before putting their name on it. 

I got the Clear-Cut stock guides and the digital readout as well.  I has entertained the idea of the Incra LS setup, and that still looks very interesting, but I didn't like the whole package as much as the JessEm offering and it may be a while before I "need" the kind of features the Incra LS offers.

Anyway, any impressions on the setup you feel like providing would be most welcome.

Thanks,
Dean
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: Steven Owen on July 07, 2018, 04:33 PM
Some of you may have seen my other thread about getting the Incra combo number 3 System. Although it will be a while before I get it and can set it up I just received my jessem powrtek motor. There is zero information out there on this motor, just a few forum posts about it. I will try to post a video review when I get everything up in running but for now here is the unboxing pictures!

The first thing I will say is this seems to be 1-2 pounds lighter then the PC7518, don’t know if this is due to having the switch mechanism remotely located or not. Was kind of shocked to feel that though. None the less we’ll see how it performs down the line.

The motor control box is nice and solid, although it is plastic. The switch feels nice to flip and the dial also feels nice. I don’t like the mounting plate so I’m going to take it off and figure out another way to mount it. All of the connectors are sealed which is very nice!

It does come with the collets, which are tucked away in some styrofoam and easy to miss. The offset wrenches are extremely nice, heavy duty and are rubberized, they feel extremely good and  was a pleasant surprise!

That’s about it for now, here are some pics!

I bought the Jessem Power-Tek-Motor as well.  I just couldn’t get the Milwaukee 5625 to fit the new Incra Master (Jessem) Lift.  I regret not buying the Woodpeckers Incra Lift instead. 

The big test will always be on high speed cuts with small bits and lower RPM cuts with cabinet door bits.  That’ll test the medal of the Power-tek Router. 

I still have the 5625 standing on standby.  I’ll purchase the the woodpecker Lift if the Powertek doesn’t work out. 
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: Alanbach on July 07, 2018, 09:32 PM
Have you contacted Jessem directly to ask for assistance regarding getting the 5625 to fit? They pride them selves on their product fitting virtually every modern router out there. I would be really surprised to hear that it can’t be done.
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: Steven Owen on July 07, 2018, 10:29 PM
Have you contacted Jessem directly to ask for assistance regarding getting the 5625 to fit? They pride them selves on their product fitting virtually every modern router out there. I would be really surprised to hear that it can’t be done.

The motor on 5625 is just too fat for the included brackets.  It would be hard to fit without sanding down 1.5 mm off the mounting brackets on the Jessem Incra Master Lift.

Woodpeckers has a smarter with their design.  They made their brackets specific to each model.  You just order the right bracket for your router model vs trying to move to different screw pins like the Jessem Lift. 

Milwaukee always messed with the design of the 5625 over the years.  The newer motors have a slightly wider diameter than the motors they released 3-4 years ago.  Jessem never updated the Master lift to accommodate the wider motor.
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: Alanbach on July 07, 2018, 11:03 PM
On Jessem’s website they actually list the 5625 as one of the router models that the Mast r lift 2 can accommodate. They list the diameter of the router as 4.143”. Here is a link:   http://jessem.com/tablet/mast-r-lift-ii.html
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: Steven Owen on July 08, 2018, 12:17 AM
On Jessem’s website they actually list the 5625 as one of the router models that the Mast r lift 2 can accommodate. They list the diameter of the router as 4.143”. Here is a link:   http://jessem.com/tablet/mast-r-lift-ii.html

It will slide in when the blocks are set for the Porter Cable but it won’t tighten-up to hold the 5625.  The suggested Milwaukee settings manual are too tight for the 5625.  You pretty much have to sand down the mounting blocks slightly to get it to fit with the pins for the mounting brackets set for the Milwaukee.

It’s a goofy set-up.  Woodpeckers design works better for the 5625.  Most Milwaukee owners prefer the Woodpeckers Incra Lift for the 5625. 
 
 
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: travisj on November 08, 2018, 11:21 AM
Can anyone share some updates on the Jessem Pow-R-Tek?  I am 95% sure I will be picking up the Sawstop router table extension today to mount on the left side of my PCS.  Planning on getting Sawstop's DC box for under the table and putting an Incra Mast-R-Lift II with the clean sweep magnaLOCK rings.  The only thing left to decide would be whether a PC7518 or the Jessem Pow-R-Tek.  I like the outboard speed control option of the Pow-R-Tek.  I know there are DIY options to do the same with a PC7518, but they end up being fairly expensive (and I don't have the time for another project of this sort).  If the new Pow-R-Tek is as solid as the old Milwaukee version, I would sooner go that route.
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: justaguy on November 08, 2018, 11:43 AM
I have a SawStop PCS with their router table on the right hand side. I purchased a Pow-R-Tek in April and have no complaints so far.
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: Mario Turcot on May 11, 2020, 12:25 PM
@3PedalMINI Any input after 2 years of use?
Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: 3PedalMINI on May 11, 2020, 10:47 PM
@3PedalMINI Any input after 2 years of use?

I can’t recommend it, good idea In concept but terrible in reality. It has absolutely no “torque” so using a panel bit requires multiple 16” passes. Half the time the switch doesn’t enable the bit so I have to use a scrap piece to rotate the bit to get it going. I wish I had just gone with the Porter Cable.

Jessem in the beginning was not interested in helping. I don’t think they even offer it anymore?

This is honestly one of the only tools I’ve been disappointed with, other then the carvex 😁

Title: Re: Jessem Pow-R-Tek Motor Review
Post by: Mario Turcot on May 11, 2020, 10:53 PM
Thank you for your reply. I found a few bad reviews and this is why I was perplex. I contact them and they still sell it but on phone call only. I will pass on it [big grin]

The ultimate router table package is planned to be delivered tomorrow and I will be using a Ridgid R29302 that is sitting on the shelf for a while.