Author Topic: New CT 26/36/48 Refresh  (Read 14340 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Doug S

  • Posts: 540
Re: New CT 26/36/48 Refresh
« Reply #30 on: June 29, 2021, 03:57 AM »

I was really pleased to see this and expected the UK model to be the same (at least the 240V I'm interested in) so why does Festool UK list the "Max. appliance socket connected load" as 1610 W, when Festool DE shows 2200 W  [sad]

This comes up all the time and I'm sure that Festool UK say you can use any Festool tool with any Festool vac (that's what I was always told anyway), the max load is a guide for if you use other makes of tool with your Festool vac.

This isn't UK but kind of explains it.

https://www.festoolownersgroup.com/festool-tools-accessories/amp-draw-on-festool-dust-extractor-vacuum-outlet-65827/

Why not contact Festool UK to get a definitive answer for us, I would be interested to know what their current view is  [smile]

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline FestitaMakool

  • Posts: 1294
Re: New CT 26/36/48 Refresh
« Reply #31 on: June 29, 2021, 05:24 PM »
Hey Festita…just curious what a W top is.

.. Soft-top, Hard-top, Sun-top, Bimini-top, T-top ..I figured Wood-top..  [big grin]
(Maybe it’s because I’m all into boats these days.. refurbishing, rigging outboard and so on  [smile] - I’ll make a new seat with waterproof plywood as a base before transferring the teak from the old battered base, that’ll be fun. Nothing I’ve done before anyway, at least some woodworking  [smile])
“The Stig” Yes, it is true, at least some part of it..
“If you have an old Land Rover and a fit wife, you’re most likely always busy”

Offline sladen

  • Posts: 5
  • Paul Sladen
Re: Common Festool/Makita/etc Bluetooth protocols
« Reply #32 on: December 16, 2021, 01:28 PM »
…it would be great to see powertool manufacturers adopt a common Bluetooth protocol for tools to switch dust extraction on/off — even just the German manufacturers…

Yes, definitely.  The good news is that the Festool kit (BT Battery/Remote/CT Receiver) have DFU support for updating firmware.  The Makita Bluetooth modules (WUT01) appear to have this too—so there is some hope for patching to support a common standard.

…Such a Bluetooth BLE protocol could be extremely simple: a hypothetical "VAC: Vacuums are Connected" protocol could be done by BLE advertisements (beaconing), a single registered 16-bit UUID and a single byte for tool run-status; (total = +5 bytes) which should fit in with the BLE packet size, along with the existing manufacturer data.  Light traffic lights, needs four states: PRERUN/RUN/PRESTOP/STOP corresponding to actions: 1. LED on, 2. Motor on, 3. Motor off (but clear hose), 4. Remote MAN = immediate off.

However, the mean-time, a workable solution is a mobile phone (with Bluetooth), or a Linux-based Raspberry Pi Zero W (with Bluetooth), acting as a hub and translating the vendor specific on/off protocols.  So far have Makita AWS documented, and Festool/Tooltech partially reverse-engineered ... waiting on access to more hardware.  Can also receive/decode the DeWalt WTC 433.92 MHz on/off signal, but only have one tool obtained as an example.

(PS. If there is anyone near Frankfurt/Heidelberg, with multiple pieces of Bluetooth-capable powertools [including Festool], please let me know!).

Online Coen

  • Posts: 1566
Re: New CT 26/36/48 Refresh
« Reply #33 on: January 19, 2022, 06:21 PM »
It hasn't stolen my heart, that's for sure. Suddenly it has this little computer on-board, that all the time, for no reason says: "Suck it up yourself". My old Mini just worked, all the time.

Ha, yeah.

But at least it 'filter clean handle' actually does something. If you suck up drywall / concrete dust, the 26 will just loose suction gradually while the new Midi allows it to be restored for 90%+.

However, when sucking up larger debris, it does not fill the bag. It launches everything forward, up to clogging the hose while there is a ton of free space directly below where the filter sits on top of the bag.

Offline ntlord

  • Posts: 14
Re: New CT 26/36/48 Refresh
« Reply #34 on: January 21, 2022, 06:31 AM »
So if the firmware is updatable. And it seems someone else reverse engineered the serial protocol, why not just write some custom firmware from scratch. Festool uses Nordic chips, so it shouldn’t be too difficult. From what I’ve seen from the remotes, they send advertisements whether paired or not. I bet the batteries work similar. So you could do what I did to make the relay adapter and just capture the advertisements.

As you’ve said elsewhere reversing the festool protocol is a little more difficult because it is encrypted. It’s too bad I just saw this, as I just got back from Frankfurt. Although I think I’ll be back in a couple of weeks (2nd week of Feb). I would have loved to meet up and swap knowledge

Offline mino

  • Posts: 932
Re: New CT 26/36/48 Refresh
« Reply #35 on: February 24, 2022, 04:22 AM »
... a blower port ...
Strongly, strongly against a blower port. A blower port means the vac is spewing all kinds of dust around itself by the wind it creates.

This is not a feature I want to se in a shop-use vac like the 26/36/48 series. If someone needs a blower port of off-shop use, there are the Mini/Midi series for that.

Secondly, a blower port does not allow a "muffed" air out, one of the things making the bigger vac series so quiet.


Onto what would be nice to see:
 - Do not change the bottom mechanical parts. So the same filters, the same bags and the same other accessories work. IMO there is nothing to really improve there.
 - Re-introduce the non-garage model option as a "cut-down/basic-offer" design for shop use. Like a "big CT15" of sorts. Or use the CT22/33 approach where the garage was optional.
 - design the garage so it can be pulled by it - a proper handle on the front (and back ?) would be ideal

Rest was already said.
When The Machine has no brains, use Yours.

Online Coen

  • Posts: 1566
Re: New CT 26/36/48 Refresh
« Reply #36 on: February 24, 2022, 04:07 PM »

This is not a feature I want to se in a shop-use vac like the 26/36/48 series. If someone needs a blower port of off-shop use, there are the Mini/Midi series for that.


Not true. You can make it in such a way that the blower port is only activated when... in actual use. Like on the CT 22.

Offline mino

  • Posts: 932
Re: New CT 26/36/48 Refresh
« Reply #37 on: February 25, 2022, 09:24 AM »

This is not a feature I want to se in a shop-use vac like the 26/36/48 series. If someone needs a blower port of off-shop use, there are the Mini/Midi series for that.


Not true. You can make it in such a way that the blower port is only activated when... in actual use. Like on the CT 22.
Not seen that, how does it work? Is there some lever that redirects the air output to the blower port ? How good is it at not losing pressure ?
When The Machine has no brains, use Yours.

Online Coen

  • Posts: 1566
Re: New CT 26/36/48 Refresh
« Reply #38 on: February 25, 2022, 01:03 PM »

This is not a feature I want to se in a shop-use vac like the 26/36/48 series. If someone needs a blower port of off-shop use, there are the Mini/Midi series for that.


Not true. You can make it in such a way that the blower port is only activated when... in actual use. Like on the CT 22.
Not seen that, how does it work? Is there some lever that redirects the air output to the blower port ? How good is it at not losing pressure ?

Yes, when you stick the hose in there it pushes a lever up, cutting off some other air outlets and opening the blowerport.