Author Topic: 12" kapex?  (Read 7870 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fritter63

  • Retailer
  • *
  • Posts: 1433
12" kapex?
« on: November 20, 2011, 03:26 PM »
I've been thinking about replacing my Bosch 12" SCMS with a Kapex, but yesterday I realized I couldn't (I still may get one, will need to keep
the bosch around).

The reason I bought the Bosch was so that I could chop 4x4 lumber (for housing building and landscaping structures easily). Without having to make two cuts after rotating the lumber. Looking at the Kapex, I see that it's max cut is 3 15/32. While this might work for some 4x4s, i wouldn't for that actually measure a full 3 1/2". Sometimes they're a little over that.

Also, yesterday I used the bosch to chop some 6x6 posts (5 1/2 nominal) and found that I could cut to within 1/2" all the way through on those!

So a 12" Kapex would be awesome for handling the larger lumber better.

THanks.

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Darren Hill

  • Posts: 50
Re: 12" kapex?
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2011, 02:52 AM »
I just picked up a Kapex today but am hanging onto my other "yellow and black" 12 inch saw for cutting larger stock and for exterior use. I would recommend the same for you, but it's your money and you defiantly want to get the most out of the saw you end up purchasing. Seriously though the Kapex won't let you down. It's a kick in the teeth to drop $1500 but it will pay for itself with the handy dandy features and just knowing that your cuts will be dead perfect every time. Best of luck to you :)
Darren Hill
DH Contracting
www.dhcontracting.ca

Offline deepcreek

  • Posts: 955
    • TimberFire Studio
Re: 12" kapex?
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2011, 08:54 AM »
After getting a Kapex, the only reason I use my old Dewalt is for cutting treated lumber and posts.
Joe Adams
TimberFire Studio
Houston, Texas

http://www.facebook.com/timberfire

Offline nowandthen

  • Posts: 17
Re: 12" kapex?
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2013, 10:21 PM »
Reviving an old thread that has surprisingly few replies. If Festool made a 12" Kapex I would buy it today. The 10" just leaves a little to be desired (capacity-wise). I love my other Festool tools and I'm sure the Kapex is an amazing saw, I just wish they offered a 12" model. It would be a no-brainer. Don't really want to keep the old 12" around but I guess I could. Would rather have a 12" and get rid of the other SCMS.

Offline skids

  • Posts: 952
Re: 12" kapex?
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2013, 08:08 PM »
Reviving an old thread that has surprisingly few replies. If Festool made a 12" Kapex I would buy it today. The 10" just leaves a little to be desired (capacity-wise). I love my other Festool tools and I'm sure the Kapex is an amazing saw, I just wish they offered a 12" model. It would be a no-brainer. Don't really want to keep the old 12" around but I guess I could. Would rather have a 12" and get rid of the other SCMS.


I am in the 10 inch camp, can't see any reason to go with a 12 inch, and I do all sorts of work. I vote that the Kapex stays 10" if for no other reason a 12'' would make it too heavy to deal with, just so I could cut a 6x6 once ever 10 years?
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything it's to late to stop reading it

Offline fritter63

  • Retailer
  • *
  • Posts: 1433
Re: 12" kapex?
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2013, 08:18 PM »

I am in the 10 inch camp, can't see any reason to go with a 12 inch, and I do all sorts of work. I vote that the Kapex stays 10" if for no other reason a 12'' would make it too heavy to deal with, just so I could cut a 6x6 once ever 10 years?

Can u cut a 4x4 in one pass with the lapel?

Offline fritter63

  • Retailer
  • *
  • Posts: 1433
Re: 12" kapex?
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2013, 08:19 PM »

I am in the 10 inch camp, can't see any reason to go with a 12 inch, and I do all sorts of work. I vote that the Kapex stays 10" if for no other reason a 12'' would make it too heavy to deal with, just so I could cut a 6x6 once ever 10 years?

Can u cut a 4x4 in one pass with the lapel?
darn spell corrector. I meant kapex

Offline skids

  • Posts: 952
Re: 12" kapex?
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2013, 08:27 PM »

I am in the 10 inch camp, can't see any reason to go with a 12 inch, and I do all sorts of work. I vote that the Kapex stays 10" if for no other reason a 12'' would make it too heavy to deal with, just so I could cut a 6x6 once ever 10 years?

Can u cut a 4x4 in one pass with the lapel?
darn spell corrector. I meant kapex

Yes, cut capacity is 4 and 3/4 inches. Thats all I have ever needed and I have been cutting wood for 15 years.
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything it's to late to stop reading it

Offline RonMiller

  • Posts: 321
Re: 12" kapex?
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2013, 09:09 PM »
I recently cut some hand-hewn almost 6" x 6" 123 year old chestnut beams for a desk and the Kapex was just able to get through it with two cuts. I cut one side and flipped it. Came out nice and of course the cut itself was easy and smooth.
Ron

Offline nowandthen

  • Posts: 17
Re: 12" kapex?
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2013, 08:43 PM »
I only have the spec sheet to go by, it states. if I recall correctly, cutting depth of 3 15/32" most 4X lumber when wet is 3 5/8" which is why I say I would like to have a larger Kapex. I am not saying get rid of the 10", just offer a 12". Kapex is a lot of money, I would like to only have one SCMS, don't care to keep the old 12" SCMS around for the heavier timbers. Please keep in mind, we are not all trim carpenters.

Offline skids

  • Posts: 952
Re: 12" kapex?
« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2013, 03:00 PM »
I only have the spec sheet to go by, it states. if I recall correctly, cutting depth of 3 15/32" most 4X lumber when wet is 3 5/8" which is why I say I would like to have a larger Kapex. I am not saying get rid of the 10", just offer a 12". Kapex is a lot of money, I would like to only have one SCMS, don't care to keep the old 12" SCMS around for the heavier timbers. Please keep in mind, we are not all trim carpenters.

I am not a trim carpenter..Actually, over the past 15 years most of my work has been rougher work, wasnt' until recently I took on alot more trim work, and got a Kapex. But...I have always had a 10" and never had any issues that would make me want to run out and get a 12". In the case of the Kapex it cuts more than any other 10" I have noted anyway.

If this is holding you back from getting a Kapex, I would reconsider it as an obstacle for you, that is my point mainly. Ask yourself how much of that larger stuff you cut over the course of time. I personally haven't felt limited by this saw, opposite actually. And if it were, most of the other things it does that other saws DO NOT would make me easily overlook the 10" blade (it's really closer to like 10 and 1/4" I believe). You are right though Kapex is alot of $$ and you have to feel good about buying one. I don't think there is anything this saw can't do that my old 10" slide couldn't do, just makes it alot easier, cleaner, lighter in weight and more accurate with the Kapex.

If they made a 12" I could see it for stationary workcenter saw in the shop I suppose. But the 10" is made to be moved about with ease, and I dig that about it. But if you think the 10" is expensive imagine what a 12" would be?

« Last Edit: February 18, 2013, 03:09 PM by skids »
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything it's to late to stop reading it

Offline nowandthen

  • Posts: 17
Re: 12" kapex?
« Reply #11 on: February 18, 2013, 07:57 PM »
Thanks Skids!

I don't intend to move it around. Will mount it in my shop and likely it will never move off-site.

I don't do a lot of heavy timber work anymore. I've pretty much completed all the major framing work on my Victorian restoration. I'm only now getting into more detailed work, some cabinets and other "lighter" work. I will likely get a Kapex, it just sounds like an incredible saw. For the heavier duty projects, I guess I can always flip the thicker stock over or drag out the old DeWalt.  [eek]

Offline skids

  • Posts: 952
Re: 12" kapex?
« Reply #12 on: February 18, 2013, 08:08 PM »
Thanks Skids!

I don't intend to move it around. Will mount it in my shop and likely it will never move off-site.

I don't do a lot of heavy timber work anymore. I've pretty much completed all the major framing work on my Victorian restoration. I'm only now getting into more detailed work, some cabinets and other "lighter" work. I will likely get a Kapex, it just sounds like an incredible saw. For the heavier duty projects, I guess I can always flip the thicker stock over or drag out the old DeWalt.  [eek]


You will love the saw, it will change how you think at the saw. And it can handle heavy work..Framing, building decks etc.

Let us know if you get it what you think after using it on a job! Oh, and wait to you use the bevel, it's amazing.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2013, 08:12 PM by skids »
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything it's to late to stop reading it