Author Topic: Syslite Duo LED light for workshop / garage?  (Read 4553 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Cheese

  • Posts: 8352
Re: Syslite Duo LED or Barrina LED's for workshop/garage?
« Reply #30 on: March 21, 2020, 11:29 AM »
Thanks @Cheese  I noticed that they list a hardwire option, but I wasn't clear how it worked.  Looking forward to your photos.

Mike, just to follow up on a statement I made earlier on the lack of robustness of these in-line switches I decided to pull one apart. After I disassembled the switch it confirms my previous evaluation...the switch contacts are pretty flimsy, being only .014" thick.

I'll turn this particular cord into a 5' cord for hard wiring the other 8' LED sticks.

I did however, locate a source for the electrical cords WITHOUT the in-line switches. They are available in 2' - 6' lengths.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/2FT-3FT-4FT-5FT-6FT-US-Power-Cords-T5-T8-Integrated-Tube-Light-3-Pin-Plug-Cable/372746696111?_trkparms=aid%3D555018%26algo%3DPL.SIM%26ao%3D2%26asc%3D225074%26meid%3D1420504283f4409ca7dc8066c29bd37c%26pid%3D100677%26rk%3D2%26rkt%3D30%26mehot%3Dnone%26sd%3D372831026369%26itm%3D372746696111%26pmt%3D1%26noa%3D0%26pg%3D2386202%26algv%3DSimplAMLv5PairwiseWeb&_trksid=p2386202.c100677.m4598





« Last Edit: April 12, 2021, 09:09 AM by Cheese »

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline mike_aa

  • Posts: 1211
Re: Syslite Duo LED light for workshop / garage?
« Reply #31 on: March 21, 2020, 06:52 PM »
@blaszcsj  @Cheese  Thanks for your responses.  Are the approaches you took safe enough and would they pass an electric inspection?  I'm always overly concerned when it comes to electricity.  When I was younger and got zapped, my hair turned into an afro.   [big grin]  Second time, it turned white!   [eek]

Mike A.

Online Cheese

  • Posts: 8352
Re: Syslite Duo LED or Barrina LED's for workshop/garage?
« Reply #32 on: March 23, 2020, 10:28 AM »
Are the approaches you took safe enough and would they pass an electric inspection? 

The method that blaszcsj used would probably pass because it's all contained within a junction/electrical box.

My method would pass if you got the right inspector.  [smile]  The Molex connectors are designated as Power Connectors designed to be used in power supplies. The 3-contact housing with pins is rated for continuous service of 14 amps @ 250V and must withstand a dielectric test of 1500V for 60 seconds without breakdown.  It could be argued that the Molex connector is several times more robust than the 19 GA wire cable you get with the Barrina LED .  [smile]

I'll post a photo of the finished Molex connector once I receive the 4:1 heat shrink.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2021, 09:08 AM by Cheese »

Offline StanB

  • Posts: 559
  • I like building stuff with my hands.
Re: Syslite Duo LED light for workshop / garage?
« Reply #33 on: March 23, 2020, 11:16 PM »
@mike_aa you can only have three lights strung together so I have a junction box for each set of three units.

I did find out these bulbs suck a bit of juice (1100w total) and it was a little difficult to find a smart switch to toggle them.
OF1010 EQ Router | MFT/3 | DF500Q | Mafell P1CC | ETS EC 150/3 | CT 36 Auto Clean | TSC55 | LR32 | OF1400 EQ Router | ZOBO Metric Set | CXS Li 2.6 - 90 Limited Edition | Universal Cleaning Set | HKC55 | Centrotec CE-SORT | RO150 FEQ | DTS 400 | RO90 DX | CTSYS | C18 Drill | SysLite KALII | Syslite STL 450 | RAS 115 E | OF2200 EB | OSC 18 Vectoro | VAC SYS SYSTEM SET | MX 1200 E MIXER | DF700 XL | PDC 18 | TID 18

Online Cheese

  • Posts: 8352
Re: Syslite Duo LED or Barrina LED's for workshop/garage?
« Reply #34 on: March 23, 2020, 11:31 PM »
I did find out these bulbs suck a bit of juice (1100w total) and it was a little difficult to find a smart switch to toggle them.

Just curious that if you've used the 8' long LED's that draw 72 watts each and you ganged them in groups of 3, that'd be a total current draw of 216 watts. Where does the 1100 watts come in?

Unless you linked them all together in one continuous circuit which would make me nervous because of the 19 gauge power cable that Barrina supplies with the lights.

Because the Barrina 19 gauge power cable is a non-standard size, it isn't rated in the usual manner per se. It's rated at "less than 10 amps but greater than 5 amps."  With 120 volts incoming voltage this would put the capacity of the cable at less than 1200 watts but greater than 600 watts. If all of the above is indeed correct...you're right on the edge, or close to it if all of the Barrina lights are daisy-chained to one another.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2021, 09:08 AM by Cheese »

Offline mike_aa

  • Posts: 1211
Re: Syslite Duo LED light for workshop / garage?
« Reply #35 on: March 24, 2020, 11:22 AM »
Thanks @Cheese  I noticed that they list a hardwire option, but I wasn't clear how it worked.  Looking forward to your photos.

Mike A.

@mike_aa I just cut the cord by the switch and routed it thru the ceiling via 6mm hole to a junction box. Used wago fittings to connect in junction box.

@blaszcsj  Thanks for the info, but I'm having a bit of trouble understanding.  It seems you are saying you drilled a hole in the ceiling (it sounds like it's finished) and ran the cut line cord to a junction box.  Is this correct?  Or am I not getting it?  Making the connection in a junction box makes sense, but I'm not sure about running the cord through the ceiling part since I thought that was not allowed.  Also, what grommet or cable clamp did you use to enter the junction box (or is it plastic and you don't need a grommet)?  The box I would be connecting to is metal.  @Cheese  used romex so I guess he would have used a regular cable clamp at a metal junction box or slipped it in if it's a plastic box.

Sorry for all the questions!  Mike A.


Offline StanB

  • Posts: 559
  • I like building stuff with my hands.
Re: Syslite Duo LED light for workshop / garage?
« Reply #36 on: March 24, 2020, 03:26 PM »
@mike_aa yes, my ceiling is finished. And yes, you are correct a junction box must be accessible. My attic is accessible so I made all junction box connections up there. If I were having to do this in a basement and still wanted a clean look. I would drill the 6mm hole about 2" from the end of the light and pop in a round box with a blanking plate 2" from that. I would still make the junction accessible and provide a no mess wire solution. make sense?
OF1010 EQ Router | MFT/3 | DF500Q | Mafell P1CC | ETS EC 150/3 | CT 36 Auto Clean | TSC55 | LR32 | OF1400 EQ Router | ZOBO Metric Set | CXS Li 2.6 - 90 Limited Edition | Universal Cleaning Set | HKC55 | Centrotec CE-SORT | RO150 FEQ | DTS 400 | RO90 DX | CTSYS | C18 Drill | SysLite KALII | Syslite STL 450 | RAS 115 E | OF2200 EB | OSC 18 Vectoro | VAC SYS SYSTEM SET | MX 1200 E MIXER | DF700 XL | PDC 18 | TID 18

Offline Michael Kellough

  • Posts: 5129
Re: Syslite Duo LED light for workshop / garage?
« Reply #37 on: March 24, 2020, 05:05 PM »
The Barrina shop lights have an angle of coverage of around 240 degrees. Much of the light is cast up towards the ceiling so a finished ceiling that will reflect the light back down would be best.

Online Cheese

  • Posts: 8352
Re: Syslite Duo LED or Barrina LED's for workshop/garage?
« Reply #38 on: March 29, 2020, 03:03 PM »
Hey Mike @mike_aa , here's a shot of the Molex connector after the 4:1 heat shrink is applied.






And here's a shot of the power cord with the integral switch removed. That gave me a 60" long cable for hard wiring as opposed to a 46" long cable. A short piece of 14 ga solid copper wire spliced in did the job.





« Last Edit: April 12, 2021, 09:07 AM by Cheese »

Offline rvieceli

  • Posts: 1412
Re: Syslite Duo LED light for workshop / garage?
« Reply #39 on: May 20, 2020, 06:51 AM »
@Cheese Since you have been living with these lights for a few months, how are you liking them? Do you have any problems with the clear covers rather than frosted?

thanks

Ron

Online Cheese

  • Posts: 8352
Re: Syslite Duo LED or Barrina LED's for workshop/garage?
« Reply #40 on: May 20, 2020, 08:37 AM »
@Cheese Since you have been living with these lights for a few months, how are you liking them? Do you have any problems with the clear covers rather than frosted?

Hey Ron @rvieceli I'm still enjoying the light  [smile]  matter of fact, I purchased some 4 foot versions and installed them into other small areas in the basement. The absolutely best move I made. I like the clear covers...I'm fine with them.

A few items...
1. There's a thin plastic film on the clear covers to protect them from scratching during shipment. It's hard to see and it's also easier to remove before they are mounted.

2. The mounting clips are flimsy and can be easily bent out of shape when pressing the Barrina light stick into the clips. My solution is to double the clips up inside each other so the each clip now has a double thickness. Even so, the double thickness clips can still be bent if you're not careful.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2021, 09:07 AM by Cheese »

Offline rvieceli

  • Posts: 1412
Re: Syslite Duo LED light for workshop / garage?
« Reply #41 on: November 12, 2020, 04:20 PM »
Thought I’d resurrect this thread......

Based on folks experience with the Barrina lights, I decided to order a 6 pack of 8 foot 5000K. I just finished installing them today and it’s like day time in the shop. Very easy installation, chalk lined three rows, screwed in the clips and hooked them. Ended up with three rows of two eight footers.

Very nice indeed. Thanks @Cheese for your follow up after living with them for a while. 

Ron

Offline Bertotti

  • Posts: 141
Re: Syslite Duo LED light for workshop / garage?
« Reply #42 on: November 12, 2020, 05:11 PM »
Nice thread the T5 fluorescent in my laundry room is dead and now is the time to change these look like a good option. I already put corn led bulbs in my unfinished basement but I am a fan of daylight bulbs so that's what they are. I'll have to order some of these and try them. I'm in SD so I wonder if anyone locally will carry them. I like to buy local first if possible and cost-prohibitive. Then again I get to the bigger cities in Minnesota routinely so maybe I can find them there if not here.
I want to populate SD with trees becasue I miss the forests of the river bottoms.

Offline rst

  • Posts: 2572
Re: Syslite Duo LED light for workshop / garage?
« Reply #43 on: November 12, 2020, 05:50 PM »
I have 10' high trusses on 4' centers 30' wide space.  I mounted 3 8'ers on each for a total of 18 daylight units.  I have absolutely no shadows anywhere.  I do not have power yet, I'm using my Honda 2200 for power for now, definitely tell there is a load when plugged.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2020, 05:53 PM by rst »

Online Cheese

  • Posts: 8352
Re: Syslite Duo LED or Barrina LED's for workshop/garage?
« Reply #44 on: November 12, 2020, 06:27 PM »
Hey @Bertotti  I also tried to purchase them locally in the Twin Cities, but they were not available. Just order them from Amazon and they’ll be delivered within 3-4 days.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2021, 09:06 AM by Cheese »

Offline Bertotti

  • Posts: 141
Re: Syslite Duo LED light for workshop / garage?
« Reply #45 on: November 12, 2020, 07:01 PM »
Thanks, @Cheese I get to Savage and South St Paul routinely and St Cloud and Rochester etc. If you didn't find them in the big cities then I probably won't find them in the Sioux Falls area either. I'll give ti a shot when I run in there tomorrow but it looks as if Amazon is the way to go!
I want to populate SD with trees becasue I miss the forests of the river bottoms.