Author Topic: Concrete block dust through dust extractor  (Read 358 times)

etterro and 5 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline ttf5003

  • Posts: 39
Concrete block dust through dust extractor
« on: Yesterday at 03:10 PM »
This morning I rented a concrete saw and cut the man door opening bigger on my shop through 8" block. Every surface in the shop is coated in fine dust.

Will it hurt the ct at all to use it to clean everything up? I think I have a non hepa filter here somewhere that I used for drywall once if that would be better.

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Holzhacker

  • Posts: 952
    • www.aic-chicago.com
Re: Concrete block dust through dust extractor
« Reply #1 on: Yesterday at 05:12 PM »
When I was flattening out concrete in high-rises to install laminate floors I had my CT hooked up to my Bosch grinder. The concrete dust never seemed to bother the CT. If it had it would have been the last CT I bought.
"The Code is not a ceiling to reach but a floor to work up from"

Offline Alex

  • Posts: 6418
Re: Concrete block dust through dust extractor
« Reply #2 on: Yesterday at 05:13 PM »
Nothing will hurt the CT.

Offline ttf5003

  • Posts: 39
Re: Concrete block dust through dust extractor
« Reply #3 on: Yesterday at 09:42 PM »
Thanks for the quick responses, I figured it was OK, I just didn't want to make a long day worse.

Offline Rob Z

  • Posts: 880
Re: Concrete block dust through dust extractor
« Reply #4 on: Today at 05:58 PM »
One more vote of confidence  that the concrete dust won't hurt your CT. We used to use ours, connected to grinders and concrete saws, and never had any problems.

Offline Gregor

  • Posts: 1644
Re: Concrete block dust through dust extractor
« Reply #5 on: Today at 07:47 PM »
Nothing will hurt the CT.
Using crappy 3rd party bags... can.

Offline rst

  • Posts: 2352
Re: Concrete block dust through dust extractor
« Reply #6 on: Today at 09:11 PM »
Was using my Metabo surface grinder hooked up to my AC 36. Knocked down 1/2" concrete floor to level for steps on crappy floor pour...virtually no dust escaped, does the same with my Planex.