Author Topic: Boom Arm with WCR 1000 and CT36.....Who has this config?  (Read 6913 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Brice_Arnold

  • Posts: 105
  • Mechanical Engineer, Machinist, Tool Addict
I just installed a boom arm to my CT36 and ran into some bugs. I am looking for some feedback or ideas on what people are doing to make this work. I have seen the boom arm installed and I have seen the WCR installed but I have only seen one set-up with both. This was from Paul-Marcel and his video review of the WCR. However, he also had to do some mods and had a custom systainer type box to elevate the WCR. Festool says that both are compatible but they clearly are not unless I am missing something. I don't consider a product compatible when I have to start drilling holes and rigging things that were otherwise not designed for.

There are absolutely no instructions by festool or anyone else that I could find on how to install the boom arm to the CT36. Again, If I am missing something please point me in the right direction. The documentation shows the boom arm being installed to some other DC.

I started by removing the WCR from the DC. I then installed the handle to the DC. Then the support legs. The next step is......? In the box there is a brace that looks like it supports the handle with two rubber feet and has the same hole pattern as the cord reel on the DC. I had to remove the cord reel and replace it with this brace. I am only guessing at this point because there is no documentation on what to do with this brace. If it is to replace the cord reel then there is no other place for the cord reel and I have now lost the functionality of being able to store the very large power cord for the DC.

Moving on. I installed the first tube of the boom, no problems. I then installed the boom arm with the tool holder, fine. I went to install the WCR at this point and what do you know? The tool holder interferes with the WCR. This doesn't seem like it's compatible to me. Also, the tool holder on the WCR interferes with the boom arm so I had to remove this as well. So I have two tool holders that I can't use because of the boom arm. Another loss in functionality.

I also had to remove the tray from the WCR and move it to the other vertical post towards the front of the DC because it interfered with the boom arm. Not a big deal except that you have to dismantle the wcr to do this. It would be nice if the WCR was symmetrical in it's mounting so that you could easily flip it 180 deg.

That's it in a nut shell. I was mostly winging it due to the lack of documentation. As is stands now I have lost some significant functionality of my WCR and DC and gained very little with the boom arm.

I was hoping for some photos and tips from other users that may have the same setup.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2011, 07:52 PM by Brice_Arnold »
"A person is not wise simply because one talks a lot."

"Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you through experience."

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Festool USA

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8429
    • Festool USA
Re: Boom Arm with WCR 1000 and CT36.....Who has this config?
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2011, 08:13 PM »
You should have gotten instructions with your boom arm. I'll post a link momentarily tomorrow morning. I need to locate it.

As for the WCR being used with the boom arm, this will work. However, you must mount the boom arm on the side of the CT closest to the power cord. The reason is because of the direction the WCR slides into the SysDock on top of the CT. If you put the boom arm on the other side of the CT, the vertical post on the WCR will hit the boom arm post preventing it from going on
« Last Edit: June 15, 2011, 08:28 PM by Shane Holland »

Offline Gone

  • Posts: 925
Re: Boom Arm with WCR 1000 and CT36.....Who has this config?
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2011, 09:53 PM »
Brice

I've got the setup and had no issues and no mods with the installation. If you want more pics I can post some tomorrow if Shane's don't give you what you need.

John

39324-0

Offline Brice_Arnold

  • Posts: 105
  • Mechanical Engineer, Machinist, Tool Addict
Re: Boom Arm with WCR 1000 and CT36.....Who has this config?
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2011, 12:03 AM »
Thanks guys.

Instructions link will help and I would definitely like to see more photos of your setup john.
"A person is not wise simply because one talks a lot."

"Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you through experience."

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."

Offline Festool USA

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8429
    • Festool USA
Re: Boom Arm with WCR 1000 and CT36.....Who has this config?
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2011, 09:35 AM »
Brice,

Here's a link to the boom arm manual for you. Remember, you can always give us a call if you need assistance.

http://www.festoolusa.com/media/pdf/468019_003_CT_ASA_22_spr.pdf

Shane
« Last Edit: June 16, 2011, 09:37 AM by Shane Holland »

Offline Martin Johnson

  • Posts: 134
Re: Boom Arm with WCR 1000 and CT36.....Who has this config?
« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2011, 09:46 AM »
John,

Did you have to use the crossbar and legs...if so, do they get in the way...a few more pictures would be great....thanks.


Brice

I've got the setup and had no issues and no mods with the installation. If you want more pics I can post some tomorrow if Shane's don't give you what you need.

John

(Attachment Link)

Offline Gone

  • Posts: 925
Re: Boom Arm with WCR 1000 and CT36.....Who has this config?
« Reply #6 on: June 16, 2011, 08:15 PM »
Brice here are some pics of the way I've mounted my boom arm and WCR1000, I hope they help. I had the boom arm originally mounted on a CT22 so I'm missing the top mounting bracket.  If you want more just ask. Martin I've never used or needed the crossbar and legs, though I have the legs mounted. They really don't get in the way.

John

39345-0

39347-1

39349-2

39351-3

39353-4

Offline Brice_Arnold

  • Posts: 105
  • Mechanical Engineer, Machinist, Tool Addict
Re: Boom Arm with WCR 1000 and CT36.....Who has this config?
« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2011, 12:29 AM »
john-

Thanks for the photos. I have been tweaking my setup and have it almost where I like it. I am still miffed about loosing the cord reel but I think I am going to mount it somewhere else on the DC.

Out of curiosity has it dawned on anyone how you can take a simple $600 dust collector and turn it into a $1300 dust collector with just a couple of accessories?

This rig is at my home shop but I am so enamored with the WCR-1000 and the ability to stay organized with the job at hand that I am tempted to pick up another WCR-1000 for my other shop. It's one of those products that doesn't really astound you on paper but once you get it and start using it you wonder how you ever lived without it.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2011, 12:40 AM by Brice_Arnold »
"A person is not wise simply because one talks a lot."

"Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you through experience."

"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."

Offline Ken Nagrod

  • Posts: 3438
Re: Boom Arm with WCR 1000 and CT36.....Who has this config?
« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2011, 12:32 AM »
The dust collector is one way Festool sucks you into buying more.  [ban]

Offline Alan m

  • Posts: 3323
Re: Boom Arm with WCR 1000 and CT36.....Who has this config?
« Reply #9 on: June 19, 2011, 07:47 AM »
i  think thats whaat the crevice tool is for. it gets down into those deep pockets for the last few quid. [scared] [scared]
"A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty."
- Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)

Offline Gone

  • Posts: 925
Re: Boom Arm with WCR 1000 and CT36.....Who has this config?
« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2011, 08:03 AM »
Good that the pics helped. I don't really miss the cord reel in my situation mainly because the vac doesn't leave the shop and is always being used. I don't really mind the money spent on tools that make my work flow easier and my time more productive.

John

Offline TomGadwa1

  • Posts: 409
Re: Boom Arm with WCR 1000 and CT36.....Who has this config?
« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2011, 03:06 PM »
Could "D C" really mean DOLLAR COLLECTOR?? HMMMMM!!!!
TS55 EQ  OF1400 EQ  DFQ 500 Q  RO 125  LR32 SET  Guide Rail Acc Kit Parallel Guide Set MFK 700 EQ Set MFS700 ETS 150/3 EQ Domino Cutter Assortment T15-3 Drill Set RO 90 EQ Workshop Cleaning Set CT36 Kapex 120 MFT/3 LR32 1080 FS 1400 FS 1900 WCR1000 PSB300 Boom Arm Set Clamping Elements RS 2 E  Kapex UG Set Zobo Forstner Set Centrotech Installers Set OF1010 OF2200 ZS-OF 2200 SYS1000 Syslite CT MIDI FS 800

There Are Those That Can Do, There Are Those That Can Not Do, Those That Can Not Do Have Those That Can Do Do The Things That They Can Not Do So That They Feel That They Have Done Something.

There ain't no something for nothing machine.