Festool Owners Group

FESTOOL DISCUSSIONS => Festool Tool Reviews => Topic started by: PaulMarcel on February 06, 2011, 08:46 PM

Title: Video Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver and Chucks (564178)
Post by: PaulMarcel on February 06, 2011, 08:46 PM
Here's a video review of the C-12 drill/driver.  Most of the time I talk about the various chucks, which means it will be useful for people not interested in the C-12 per se.

Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBag-WsEo3o#ws)
Title: Re: Video Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver and Chucks
Post by: jimmy7 on February 06, 2011, 09:29 PM
Mustard? [huh]You mean Dewalt???
Title: Re: Video Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver and Chucks
Post by: jimmy7 on February 06, 2011, 09:33 PM
A red company?Surely you mean milwaukee???
Title: Re: Video Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver and Chucks
Post by: PaulMarcel on February 06, 2011, 10:13 PM
Yes and Yes  [cool]


...and that was my sense of humor; no knock on either company, though my knuckle did hurt a lot after slipping with the 'red' 90ยบ chuck.
Title: Re: Video Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver and Chucks
Post by: bijeshj on February 06, 2011, 10:22 PM
Hi, thank you for the excellent review - was good timing for me :). Do you also have the T15 and if yes - do you still use the C12?
Title: Re: Video Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver and Chucks
Post by: vkumar on February 06, 2011, 10:42 PM
Paul, another nice review.  One small error regarding battery capacity--it should be 1.3 Ah not mAh (milliamp hour)  or 1300mAh.
Paul at this rate of excellent reviews, Shane will have no choice but to give you the Grand Prize. ;D

Vijay
Title: Re: Video Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver and Chucks
Post by: Festool USA on February 06, 2011, 10:46 PM
Paul at this rate of excellent reviews, Shane will have no choice but to give you the Grand Prize. ;D

I agree that Paul's doing an amazing job and has certainly significantly enhanced his odds of winning in the video category. However, the reality is that the contest is not based on quantity, or even quality. The winners are selected randomly. So, someone who makes one video has a chance of winning. Of course, the more entries you have, the better your odds of winning.
Title: Re: Video Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver and Chucks
Post by: jimmy7 on February 06, 2011, 10:48 PM
Kreg has a very good shout also.His videos are very interesting and funny
Title: Re: Video Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver and Chucks
Post by: PaulMarcel on February 06, 2011, 11:48 PM
Hi, thank you for the excellent review - was good timing for me :). Do you also have the T15 and if yes - do you still use the C12?

I don't have the T-15.  The C-12 is the only Festool drill that I own.  The DeWalt you see in the video has an interesting story behind it and was a gift from my dad; it will never leave the shop.  I did use an older T-style drill from Festool when I helped a friend do an onsite install; it was very comfortable and didn't feel anywhere near as heavy as the DeWalt.

The chucks are the same between the C-12 and T-15+3 so buy one drill as a set and you have the chucks to interoperate between all the drills.

I have a Centrotec chuck demo that I did with the C-12 that I just posted.  Give that a look if you are curious about the chucks.


Vijay: you know, when I said mAh, my brain said "D'oh!" and I wanted to put a call-out to correct it in the video.  I may go edit that on YouTube.  Yeah, 1.3 mAh would kinda suck, huh? :)  I swear the camera's red light makes me dumb.
Title: Re: Video Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver and Chucks
Post by: bijeshj on February 07, 2011, 08:04 AM
Paul - thanks. The video on  the chucks was really cool.
Title: Re: Video Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver and Chucks
Post by: Alex on February 07, 2011, 09:10 AM
However, the reality is that the contest is not based on quantity,

 Of course, the more entries you have, the better your odds of winning.

 ???
Title: Re: Video Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver and Chucks
Post by: mosez on February 07, 2011, 09:13 AM
thats exactly what i thought, alex ^^
anyway: i assume we are not eligible anyways, since we live in europe. is that correct?
Title: Re: Video Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver and Chucks
Post by: Alex on February 07, 2011, 09:26 AM
anyway: i assume we are not eligible anyways, since we live in europe. is that correct?

That's what I came to understand. But I guess there must be some very plausible reason for this restricting measure from the people that pride themselves to live in the Land Of The Free where everybody is equal.
Title: Re: Video Review of Festool C-12 Drill/Driver and Chucks
Post by: CharlesWilson on February 07, 2011, 10:50 AM
That's what I came to understand. But I guess there must be some very plausible reason for this restricting measure from the people that pride themselves to live in the Land Of The Free where everybody is equal.

But, some are more equal than others (to quote George Orwell).

Charles