Festool Owners Group

FESTOOL DISCUSSIONS => Festool Tool Reviews => Topic started by: Wood_Junkie on July 05, 2011, 06:14 PM

Title: Racktainer
Post by: Wood_Junkie on July 05, 2011, 06:14 PM
Okay, this isn't a review, per se.  Just a quick overview and plenty of pictures.

Basic info:
Racktainer, made (possibly limited) available recently with Festool branding/colors, etc.  Interestinly, sold for less than the normal dark grey Tanos model.  Yay.   The case show manufacturer "Raaco" on the bottom.

Overview:
Same size as a Sys 4 and/or a Sortainer size 4.  I've shown them side by side here.  You can see that the Racktainer has the slightly tapered tops like a Sortainer.

[attachthumb=#]                    [attachthumb=#]


Here's a closeup of the retention mechanism.  It is a sizable spring hook that holds the drawer/case in place.

[attachthumb=#]


An interesting feature of these cases is that they can stack while open, AND they have a slight recess so they won't slip and slide and fall off.

[attachthumb=#]


Here are shots of the interior boxes.  There are two of each set.

Set #1:   [attachthumb=#]


Set #2:  [attachthumb=#]


Here are some comparative shots of the Sys1 boxes and the Racktainer boxes.  You can see that the Racktainer boxes are shorter and narrower.

[attachthumb=#]                    [attachthumb=#]


On the bottom of each box there are these feet/nubs.  These engage on the base of the racktainer, to prevent them from moving when the case is in a vertical position (i.e. when being carried individually).  Very nice feature.
Additionally, there are some raised ridges on the lid, which also help keep items from migrating from one box to another.

[attachthumb=#]
[attachthumb=#]
[attachthumb=#]


Here I am *trying* to shake some washers from one box to another.  The ridges and such prevented any from traveling.  Nice!

[attachthumb=#]


I've moved all of my 1/4" bolt and accessories into one tray.  More and various hardware will find a home in the Racktainer.

[attachthumb=#]



Although I could probably get identical function using a Sortainer, I really like that I can just take the tray I want, instead of the whole Systainer-sized thing.
Also, no risks of the drawers getting stuck on little things, as some have stated happens with Sortainers.

Now I have to find a place for this on my rolling Sys-Stacks, or build another Festool condo to house it and some friends...


Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: Steve R on July 05, 2011, 06:22 PM
Dang another thing I need [thumbs up]

Thanks for the quick review! You really showed the things that overcame my perceived issues, due to lack of images that show scale.  They are better than I thought....  You did a great job showing size so I know how I can use it.

Cheers,
Steve
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: MadViking on July 05, 2011, 06:28 PM
Nice review, it seems they are a bit more usefull than I had thought.

I have however not seen any Festool branded Racktainers, and there is no mention of them on any of the European official Festool sites, nor at any dealers (besides the Tanos Racktainer). Is this a US-only product?
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: Sal LiVecchi on July 05, 2011, 06:36 PM
Wood_Junkie     Nice review, so far I have only one draw filled with Kreg pocket Screws,
                          I see that this may be a slow progress to fill the other 3 , but I have faith I will persist and get it done (ha ha)
                          I will say  I do like this racktainer  very much and I plan on getting good use out of it for sure [big grin]

Sal
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: PaulMarcel on July 05, 2011, 07:47 PM
Nice review, Junkie.  One question: can you label what's in the boxes with a Writex (http://festoolownersgroup.com/festool-tool-reviews/review-of-writex-hb2-linear-marking-and-identification-tool-(parody)-12914/)?
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: Steve R on July 05, 2011, 08:50 PM
Nice review, Junkie.  One question: can you label what's in the boxes with a Writex (http://festoolownersgroup.com/festool-tool-reviews/review-of-writex-hb2-linear-marking-and-identification-tool-(parody)-12914/)?

Paul,

Thanks for the point to the other thread. I had never seen it and was rolling on the floor. I now know that when I get a Domino Estimating jobs is going to be easier..... [big grin]

Cheers,
Steve
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: RonWen on July 05, 2011, 09:00 PM
+1 Paul.  [big grin]
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: Wood_Junkie on July 05, 2011, 10:26 PM
Nice review, Junkie.  One question: can you label what's in the boxes with a Writex (http://festoolownersgroup.com/festool-tool-reviews/review-of-writex-hb2-linear-marking-and-identification-tool-(parody)-12914/)?

Haha, ahh the Writex.  One of my more clever reviews.  I have to admit the child's table design picture and the Domi-raser totally crack me up.

Anywho, the Racktainer is pretty cool. 
Is it worth the price?  Judgement call. 
Precision engineered ABS plastic hardware-condo, with removable carry-along hardware-store variety:  $199.
Very well designed organization in "the system".  Priceless.
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: Dave Reinhold on July 05, 2011, 10:31 PM
Wow they look cool. Thanks for the pics and descriptions. They seem to offer plenty of secure storage. I love how you can access the individual storage bins and grab one and go or grab the whole case.  Really cool have fun with them.

Dave
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: PaulMarcel on July 06, 2011, 12:10 AM
Only thing I noticed is that the rack-release button is only on the right.  Lefties may not like that.  But then lefties are much more ambidextrous than righties.
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: waynelang2001 on July 06, 2011, 04:25 AM
Only thing I noticed is that the rack-release button is only on the right.  Lefties may not like that.  But then lefties are much more ambidextrous than righties.

Us lefties have been forced to use the mouse with our right hand, So one extra button on the right won't be to big of a deal. Any idea if these will be making there way to South Africa???? I would drop the cash for one pretty quickly.
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: Peter Halle on July 06, 2011, 07:35 AM
Wayne,

I didn't see it in the Festool South Africa website.  You might need to locate a Tanos dealer in South Africa or who will ship to South Africa.

Peter
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: waynelang2001 on July 06, 2011, 07:42 AM
Wayne,

I didn't see it in the Festool South Africa website.  You might need to locate a Tanos dealer in South Africa or who will ship to South Africa.

Peter

The festool SA website is useless Peter, Ive seen products at the dealer months before they are ever put on the website. Also I have seen the ratchet set the mini sys and the festool levels and there not on the site.
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: RonWen on July 06, 2011, 02:31 PM
Only thing I noticed is that the rack-release button is only on the right.  Lefties may not like that.  But then lefties are much more ambidextrous than righties.

Us lefties have been forced to use the mouse with our right hand, So one extra button on the right won't be to big of a deal. Any idea if these will be making there way to South Africa???? I would drop the cash for one pretty quickly.

You can't just reverse the buttons in your setup properties?
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: waynelang2001 on July 06, 2011, 04:51 PM
Only thing I noticed is that the rack-release button is only on the right.  Lefties may not like that.  But then lefties are much more ambidextrous than righties.

Us lefties have been forced to use the mouse with our right hand, So one extra button on the right won't be to big of a deal. Any idea if these will be making there way to South Africa???? I would drop the cash for one pretty quickly.

You can't just reverse the buttons in your setup properties?

sure i could but using it like a righty is how i was shown in school. I dont think I have ever seen anyone use the mouse in there left hand anyways.
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: PaulMarcel on July 06, 2011, 05:01 PM
A friend of mine broke his right wrist and is a righty.  He configured his mouse to the left and has used it that way ever since.  Says he prefers it since he can easily mouse around or highlight stuff while jotting down notes with his right.  Made perfect sense.  In his case, he's a manager so he transfers stuff to pre-printed TPC reports :)
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: Mauri Motti on July 06, 2011, 06:03 PM
Nice review, it seems they are a bit more usefull than I had thought.

I have however not seen any Festool branded Racktainers, and there is no mention of them on any of the European official Festool sites, nor at any dealers (besides the Tanos Racktainer). Is this a US-only product?

Hi MadViking,

I'm afraid too, that it's NAINE!

Not Available In Northern Europe  ::)

Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: SRSemenza on July 07, 2011, 12:43 AM
Hi,

According to the website, kofferfunshop in Germany has them.

http://www.kofferfunshop.de/rack-systainer+iv-1.html?osCsid=44934412add22b5fc8edeb3c3beef1a8 (http://www.kofferfunshop.de/rack-systainer+iv-1.html?osCsid=44934412add22b5fc8edeb3c3beef1a8)

Seth
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: Festoller on July 07, 2011, 03:32 AM
The kofferfunshop one is the Tanos, no Festool logo and blue shutters/ snappers. I don't know if the case colour is the same than the Festool systainer colour, but I think it is. Although I don't think you can buy these specific green Racktainer snappers to exchange the blue ones, or is it the ordinary Systainer one (sure doesn't look like). Of course technically there's really no difference between the Tanos and the Festool, but somehow that blue is kind of disturbing in the middle of many grey/ green Systainers.

Still it is awkward that this Festool branded Racktainer is obviously produced in Germany, but not available for sale (execpt for the Tanos)

Someone mentioned is was once availabe, but at least in my catalogs from 2005 until 2011, I couldn't find it.

Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: Wood_Junkie on July 07, 2011, 07:48 AM
I checked the Racktainer against my Sortainer.  The external features are the same as a Sortainer in every respect.
The connecting tabs, flaps, clips, whatever you call them are the same as on a Sortainer and could be exchanged out for Festool green/grey.
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: waynelang2001 on July 07, 2011, 11:05 AM
A friend of mine broke his right wrist and is a righty.  He configured his mouse to the left and has used it that way ever since.  Says he prefers it since he can easily mouse around or highlight stuff while jotting down notes with his right.  Made perfect sense.  In his case, he's a manager so he transfers stuff to pre-printed TPC reports :)

Paul

I had a op on my hand many years ago and also had to use the mouse with my left hand but could never get used to it. I think at least now I can write with my left hand while im on the pc.
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: SRSemenza on July 07, 2011, 11:10 AM
I checked the Racktainer against my Sortainer.  The external features are the same as a Sortainer in every respect.
The connecting tabs, flaps, clips, whatever you call them are the same as on a Sortainer and could be exchanged out for Festool green/grey.

Yes, that is correct. Tha latches  (schnappers) are the same as Sortainers and could be swapped.

The case color is the same.  I am guessing the only other difference is that one will have raised lettering ( in the case color) that says Tanos along the top, front edge and the other will say Festool.

Seth
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: Sean Ackerman on July 13, 2011, 05:22 PM
The kofferfunshop one is the Tanos, no Festool logo and blue shutters/ snappers. I don't know if the case colour is the same than the Festool systainer colour, but I think it is. Although I don't think you can buy these specific green Racktainer snappers to exchange the blue ones, or is it the ordinary Systainer one (sure doesn't look like). Of course technically there's really no difference between the Tanos and the Festool, but somehow that blue is kind of disturbing in the middle of many grey/ green Systainers.

Still it is awkward that this Festool branded Racktainer is obviously produced in Germany, but not available for sale (execpt for the Tanos)

Someone mentioned is was once availabe, but at least in my catalogs from 2005 until 2011, I couldn't find it.


Really???  Where did these come from?  Anyone have any idea?  I'm not being sarcastic fyi.
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: SRSemenza on July 13, 2011, 08:15 PM
The kofferfunshop one is the Tanos, no Festool logo and blue shutters/ snappers. I don't know if the case colour is the same than the Festool systainer colour, but I think it is. Although I don't think you can buy these specific green Racktainer snappers to exchange the blue ones, or is it the ordinary Systainer one (sure doesn't look like). Of course technically there's really no difference between the Tanos and the Festool, but somehow that blue is kind of disturbing in the middle of many grey/ green Systainers.

Still it is awkward that this Festool branded Racktainer is obviously produced in Germany, but not available for sale (execpt for the Tanos)

Someone mentioned is was once availabe, but at least in my catalogs from 2005 until 2011, I couldn't find it.


Really???  Where did these come from?  Anyone have any idea?  I'm not being sarcastic fyi.

The Tanos Racktainer?  Tanos introduced them in or about February 2008 . I don't think Festool ever sold them as a regular item in NA, promo / limited only. I am not sure about the rest of the world for Festool Racktainers.

Seth
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: RonWen on July 21, 2011, 04:20 PM
I just started using mine -- the feature that I really like is that the various sizes of plastic boxes in the drawers are modular so you can mix them around to suit your needs.
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: jmbfestool on July 21, 2011, 07:58 PM
Only thing I noticed is that the rack-release button is only on the right.  Lefties may not like that.  But then lefties are much more ambidextrous than righties.

Yes we are!  [ [cool]
Title: Re: Racktainer
Post by: RonWen on July 21, 2011, 08:04 PM
Only thing I noticed is that the rack-release button is only on the right.  Lefties may not like that.  But then lefties are much more ambidextrous than righties.

Hey Paul, We gave you steering wheels on the left side, let us have the rack-release button on the right...  [crying]