Author Topic: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)  (Read 25773 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PaulMarcel

  • Posts: 1506
    • Voilà, my blog
Here's a video review of the Festool Domino joining system.

It's a playlist to let you jump to more interesting sections, though YouTube likely has a lot more interesting videos than tool reviews :)

EDIT: some people had problems with the playlist format so I make hyperlinks to the individual clips below (the Part # text)

is an overview of the tool itself, the markings, the little green knobs.
is about the Dominos themselves.  There are actually some interesting facts about Dominos.  There's also a discussion of the width setting.
is the Domino in use.  "Domino in use" could go on forever with all the different joinery tasks you could do, so I actually discuss a few different options and methods.
is a strength test and review of the results.

This is the playlist that will play all 4 in a row (or use the arrows to skip)

http://www.youtube.com/my_playlists?p=EF394D17F1B997AA
« Last Edit: February 15, 2011, 02:39 AM by PaulMarcel »
Visit my blog for Festool adventures
IG: @PaulMarcel328 - basically stories, mix of circus, woodworking, maybe gym stuffs... it's not an extension of my blog, /tedtalk

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline BTDT

  • Posts: 75
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2011, 10:23 PM »
Paul,

Even though the top of the MFT is meant to be a consumable I thought you were a little too brave doing the test on top of it!

The added link was quite interesting too.

Brad

Offline Brice Burrell

  • Posts: 7387
  • Remodeling Contractor
    • The Green and Dark Blue blog
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2011, 10:27 PM »
Paul, I think these four are your best work yet. [thumbs up]
Check out my new blog, The Green and Dark Blue Blog.

Offline maxpower10

  • Posts: 67
    • Simply Automation
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2011, 11:32 PM »
Fantastic.  This could not have been better timing for me.  Domino just came on Friday!  Thanks!

Scott
Buy the best, and learn to like it.

Offline ScotF

  • Posts: 2812
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2011, 01:03 AM »
Excellent review, Paul.  You can have a future on a WWing show...top notch reviews!!

Scot 

Offline PaulMarcel

  • Posts: 1506
    • Voilà, my blog
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2011, 01:53 AM »
Thanks for the compliments, guys.  I have to say this one was the more difficult one... soo many things you could monologue about when it comes to the Domino.

And, you're right, Brad, I gave the MFT top a second look before knocking that tenon off.

Thanks, again!
Visit my blog for Festool adventures
IG: @PaulMarcel328 - basically stories, mix of circus, woodworking, maybe gym stuffs... it's not an extension of my blog, /tedtalk

Offline PaulMarcel

  • Posts: 1506
    • Voilà, my blog
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2011, 02:41 AM »
Some people sent me messages indicating that they had difficulty watching the playlist.  They could skip ahead to clip 2, but couldn't get clip 1 to play.  Not sure what it is... works when I try it as a guest on another machine.

Anyway, I went back and edited the original post to link each clip individually... the last one is still the playlist.  Hopefully that helps.
Visit my blog for Festool adventures
IG: @PaulMarcel328 - basically stories, mix of circus, woodworking, maybe gym stuffs... it's not an extension of my blog, /tedtalk

Offline ossietim

  • Posts: 118
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2011, 04:28 AM »
I'd like to know the sales numbers for this tool in the coming weeks..... This review makes me want one!!
Great material here  [thumbs up]

Thanks again Paul

BTW .I think you have scared others away [blink] hard to compete with this quality of video review
It is "Know-how" which distinguishes the USEFUL Person from the "USELESS"

Books and Men can give you "Know-how and  Practice gives you skill.

Offline Festoolfootstool

  • Posts: 2076
  • The trouble with Bob is its all about Bob
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2011, 06:28 AM »
I'd like to know the sales numbers for this tool in the coming weeks..... This review makes me want one!!
Great material here  [thumbs up]

Thanks again Paul

BTW .I think you have scared others away [blink] hard to compete with this quality of video review


Unfortunatly the winners are picked at "random" [big grin] so quality has little to do with the outcome [huh]
If the milk turns out to be sour, I ain't the kind of **** to drink it.......

Why do Festool accessories only have a two month guarantee here in the UK ?

Offline Frank Pellow

  • Posts: 2748
  • Toronto, Ontario and Lake Pivabiska, Ontario
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2011, 12:02 PM »
I'd like to know the sales numbers for this tool in the coming weeks..... This review makes me want one!!
Great material here  [thumbs up]

Thanks again Paul

BTW .I think you have scared others away [blink] hard to compete with this quality of video review


Unfortunatly the winners are picked at "random" [big grin] so quality has little to do with the outcome [huh]

I liked it much better when contests here were won based on quality.  Paul would win this hands down. 

But, with the quantity of great videaos he has posted, he is still kilely to win.  [big grin]
« Last Edit: February 15, 2011, 12:05 PM by Frank Pellow »
Cheers,   
               Frank (Festool connoisseur)

Offline USPcompact

  • Posts: 95
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2011, 05:27 PM »
I liked the bit about pinning the dominoes.  I've been using the Sipo dominoes and Titebond III when doing outdoor projects and then pinning the dominoes with stainless 23 gauge pins.  In addition to the added strength, assembly is now MUCH faster as clamping time has pretty much been eliminated since the pins hold everything tight once the joints are pulled tight with the clamps. 

Great videos, Paul. 

Offline rookie08

  • Posts: 208
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2011, 06:25 PM »
Paul,

Fantastic!  They get better each time.  I just got the Domino last week and as someone mentioned above, I'm even more enthused about it now.

On the Part one, the first video display before you hit the play button.  You may want to edit to skip the first frame or 2.  When I first saw the picture, my first thought was; Paul has been n the shop too long and  been hitting the happy juice.  OMG, he should not have any type of power tool in his hand right now.! 2nd time I watched it; it looks like you are about to say; "yo dudes, like totally check out my raaaaad domino!!!!   [laughing] 

Great reviews and comedy!  When is the DIY Network calling you for your first show?  [thumbs up]

Cheers dude!  8)


Offline Jesse Cloud

  • Posts: 1750
  • Festooling at the end of a dirt road in New Mexico
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2011, 07:26 PM »
Hey Paul - those videos rock!  I've been using the Domino since it first came out and thought I knew it all --- not!  Hadn't appreciated the relatively weak resistance to shear in the Dominoes (not a criticism, just something to take into consideration as you showed).

Hope you get something green and blue for your efforts!

Thanks,
Jess

Offline optimistisch

  • Posts: 52
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #13 on: August 04, 2011, 01:45 PM »
This review made me purchase a Domino Set.  [tongue]

darn, I am more and more slippering down the green drain.
ETS125EQ+, TS55EBQ+, OF2200EB & Metric Set, DF500Q Set,  C12 Li 1,3+, PRECISIO CS 50 with an Sliding table, RO150FEQ+
MFS 700 & MFS-VP 1000 and 2 x FS1400/2 in a wooden case, a self designed installers kit for CentroTec tools
a self designed work bench in an MFT Style with a lot on enhancements


Twitter: @optimistisch

Offline Peter Parfitt

  • Magazine/Blog Author
  • *
  • Posts: 4297
    • New Brit Workshop on YouTube
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2011, 12:55 PM »
Hi Paul

Your video reviews are very good and this set on the Domino has been so useful that I just had to buy one. I am delighted with my new bit of Festool kit (I am delighted with it all - of course!) and very grateful for your light hearted and informative video review. Thanks Paul.

Peter

Offline PaulMarcel

  • Posts: 1506
    • Voilà, my blog
Re: Video Review of Festool DF-500 Domino Joining System (574307)
« Reply #15 on: September 24, 2011, 05:16 PM »
Thanks everybody... and sorry about that green precipice, Optimistisch!  I think all Domino users are of the opinion that you soon forget the price due to its usefulness and speed.

I have other videos on the Domino, some in a project and some technique, posted on my blog.  Easiest way to find them is to click the Domino label in the label cloud to see all of them that relate.  The first one you'll see there right now is some early information on Rick's Self-Centering Guide, but that's kinda dated now that I have one so there'll be a review of that and how to calibrate your Domino sometime this week.
Visit my blog for Festool adventures
IG: @PaulMarcel328 - basically stories, mix of circus, woodworking, maybe gym stuffs... it's not an extension of my blog, /tedtalk