Author Topic: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up  (Read 10990 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline squall_line

  • Posts: 1457
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #30 on: October 24, 2021, 11:32 AM »
Since when is the gray hose anti-static? Or is the picture outdated?

The "connection coupling, anti-static D50/D50 VM-AS" is the coupler only, which is anti-static.  The gray hose is still non-anti-static.

https://www.festoolusa.com/accessory/493047---d-50d-50-vm-as

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Toolabundant

  • Posts: 85
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #31 on: October 24, 2021, 01:21 PM »
You could also try ordering this adapter. I’ve got two and use them for intended an various other tasks:

(Attachment Link)
I did it’s on its way from Amazon uk
OF1010
CT15
RO90

Offline Toolabundant

  • Posts: 85
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #32 on: October 27, 2021, 01:34 PM »
Drilled hole for bench dog table . The Festool hose fits but I used adapters as to not damage the mdf/laminate by removing and attaching hose.  Must work on sealing cabinet / work on air flow to port. Doesn’t work to well.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2021, 01:40 PM by Toolabundant »
OF1010
CT15
RO90

Offline Toolabundant

  • Posts: 85
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #33 on: October 27, 2021, 01:39 PM »
Hose to y works well
OF1010
CT15
RO90

Offline Toolabundant

  • Posts: 85
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #34 on: October 27, 2021, 10:19 PM »
Hooked up with one hose and other end plugged.
OF1010
CT15
RO90

Offline Coen

  • Posts: 1675
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #35 on: October 28, 2021, 10:47 AM »
Hey was the angle of the Y changed? Now it looks closer to 3x120 degrees while in the past it was more like 60 degrees + 2x150 degrees

Offline squall_line

  • Posts: 1457
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #36 on: October 28, 2021, 10:54 AM »
Hey was the angle of the Y changed? Now it looks closer to 3x120 degrees while in the past it was more like 60 degrees + 2x150 degrees

I think that's an optical illusion from the camera angle.  Both of the Y adapters that I have look much more like 60 + 2x150, and are brand new.

Offline Toolabundant

  • Posts: 85
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #37 on: October 28, 2021, 09:02 PM »
Here’s a better view
OF1010
CT15
RO90

Offline Toolabundant

  • Posts: 85
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #38 on: October 29, 2021, 09:52 PM »
Got the compact cleaner accessories kit. Like that the attachments are stored but it’s poorly executed. Need to really push lid down . They barely fit. As impressed as I was that the 1010 router is well thought out the cleaning kit was really just thrown together .
OF1010
CT15
RO90

Offline Coen

  • Posts: 1675
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #39 on: October 30, 2021, 12:35 PM »
Yeah the bottom foam is thicker compared to the same in Classic Systainer. I also don't get why all these sets are missing the brush.

Also if you mount it with the T... the handle will make the combo wider...

Offline Toolabundant

  • Posts: 85
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #40 on: November 06, 2021, 08:29 PM »
Only complaint is I wish the outlet on vacuum was more than 2 Amos. Even the bigger Festool are only 3.7 amps. My WAP vacuum outlet is 500 watts. That’s more than the Festools. I can’t plug my new rotex 90 into my ct 15. I could plug it into the WAP. Almost did that today but used a extension with 3 outlets .
OF1010
CT15
RO90

Offline ChuckS

  • Posts: 3691
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #41 on: November 06, 2021, 08:36 PM »
Snip.
 I can’t plug my new rotex 90 into my ct 15. I could plug it into the WAP. Almost did that today but used a extension with 3 outlets . (Attachment Link) (Attachment Link)

Why not?

The Rotex is rated 400W while the DF500 420W. I use the CT15 with the Domino Joiner all the time (as well as with other tools like the belt sander, etc.).

Offline Toolabundant

  • Posts: 85
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #42 on: November 06, 2021, 10:37 PM »
Snip.
 I can’t plug my new rotex 90 into my ct 15. I could plug it into the WAP. Almost did that today but used a extension with 3 outlets . (Attachment Link) (Attachment Link)

Why not?

The Rotex is rated 400W while the DF500 420W. I use the CT15 with the Domino Joiner all the time (as well as with other tools like the belt sander, etc.).
  Cause the technical specs say max 2 amps for onboard electrical outlet .
OF1010
CT15
RO90

Offline ChuckS

  • Posts: 3691
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #43 on: November 06, 2021, 11:00 PM »
If my memory serves me right, some did have similar queries about the Kapex and CT26, CT 36 etc., and I do not recall anyone ever toasting their CT dust extractors using the Kapex. As far as I know. all Festool showrooms hook up their Kapex to a CT26, etc.

Frankly, if I couldn't use the CT15 with my DF500, I wouldn't have bought it.

Technical Data for CT 15 E HEPA Dust Extractor
Power consumption: 350 W-1,200 W

Max. appliance socket connected load: 2200 W
« Last Edit: November 06, 2021, 11:16 PM by ChuckS »

Offline Toolabundant

  • Posts: 85
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #44 on: November 07, 2021, 01:53 AM »
If my memory serves me right, some did have similar queries about the Kapex and CT26, CT 36 etc., and I do not recall anyone ever toasting their CT dust extractors using the Kapex. As far as I know. all Festool showrooms hook up their Kapex to a CT26, etc.

Frankly, if I couldn't use the CT15 with my DF500, I wouldn't have bought it.

Technical Data for CT 15 E HEPA Dust Extractor
Power consumption: 350 W-1,200 W
Here Festool
Addresses the label:  https://www.festoolownersgroup.com/festool-tools-accessories/amp-draw-on-festool-dust-extractor-vacuum-outlet-65827/ But why out a 2 amp restriction in owned manual?
Max. appliance socket connected load: 2200 W
OF1010
CT15
RO90

Offline Coen

  • Posts: 1675
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #45 on: November 07, 2021, 04:07 AM »
That's the difference between having 230V and being the odd one out using 110V... big waste of copper.

Offline SRSemenza

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 9996
  • Finger Lakes Region, NY State , USA
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #46 on: November 07, 2021, 09:50 AM »
Please see this from Festool ------->  CT Amp Draw

 
        On a personal (not from Festool) , anecdotal note  ...............................  I run everything off the CT outlet. Including Kapex and OF2200.



Seth

Offline ChuckS

  • Posts: 3691
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #47 on: November 07, 2021, 11:00 AM »
The two Festool vendors I've been to have no shop vacs or extractors other than the CTs (of course!). They run everything (Festool products as well as non-Festool machines, e.g., 14" bandsaw) on the CTs in their showrooms as well as in their classes.

I'm not an electrician, but I feel totally comfortable of continuing to use my CT15 (since Feb. 2021) for sanders (Pro 5 Ltd), DF, Bosch plunge & trim routers and others. I run the Kapex EB on a Sears shop vac fitted with a dust deputy and auto switch (on a 15A (vac) & 20A (miter saw) circuits, in an effort to minimize the chances of a motor burn-out).
« Last Edit: November 07, 2021, 12:20 PM by ChuckS »

Offline ChuckS

  • Posts: 3691
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #48 on: November 07, 2021, 01:51 PM »
Please see this from Festool ------->  CT Amp Draw

 
        On a personal (not from Festool) , anecdotal note  ...............................  I run everything off the CT outlet. Including Kapex and OF2200.



Seth
"When using a non Festool tools, please make sure your tool and CT Dust Collector combination does not exceed the amperage that is available from the wall receptacle."

I should be safe here as the CT15 as well as the Kapex is on a 20A circuit, which I added last summer. The CT15 and Kapex are never operated at the same time. I've added another 20A circuit for the SawStop and its overarm dust collection shop vac.

Offline ChuckS

  • Posts: 3691
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #49 on: November 07, 2021, 02:00 PM »
That's the difference between having 230V and being the odd one out using 110V... big waste of copper.
The only 220V circuit I have in my shop is for a garage heater. Knowing what I know now, I should've got a 220V 1.75HP SawStop rather than a 110V version. (Too much work now to convert it to a 220V saw.)

Offline Vondawg

  • Posts: 479
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #50 on: November 08, 2021, 09:20 AM »
Please see this from Festool ------->  CT Amp Draw

 
        On a personal (not from Festool) , anecdotal note  ...............................  I run everything off the CT outlet. Including Kapex and OF2200.



Seth

I do as well….for years now.
There are no mistakes....just new designs.

Offline Crazyraceguy

  • Posts: 1649
Re: Festool ct 15. Two thumbs way up
« Reply #51 on: November 08, 2021, 10:03 AM »
Please see this from Festool ------->  CT Amp Draw

 
        On a personal (not from Festool) , anecdotal note  ...............................  I run everything off the CT outlet. Including Kapex and OF2200.
 


Seth


I do as well….for years now.


I do too, for the most part. I do however run my big Triton router that is in the table on a separate circuit when taking bigger cuts, especially in hardwood. I don't bother with that for normal rabbets, grooves, etc in ply, MDF or particle board, but I have seen (heard and felt) the draw and slow-down with hardwood, so I adjust for that.
CSX
DF500 + assortment set
PS420 + Base kit
OF1010
OF1010F
OF1400
MFK700 (2)
TS55, FS1080, FS1400 holey, FS1900, FS3000
CT26E + Workshop cleaning set
RO90
RO125
ETS EC 125
RAS115
ETS 125 (2)
TS75
Shaper Origin/Workstation
MFT clamps set