Author Topic: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video  (Read 43024 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Peter Parfitt

  • Magazine/Blog Author
  • *
  • Posts: 4429
    • New Brit Workshop on YouTube
Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« on: October 12, 2012, 03:34 PM »
There is a new jigsaw being sold made by a company called Festool. Not many of you will have heard about this product and so I have made a short video which may be of interest.

My tool was supplied by Festool through my association with a major (UK) woodworking magazine.

Take a look at:



Peter

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline galwaydude18

  • Posts: 842
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2012, 03:56 PM »
Excellent review Peter. Very honest and detailed. It has cleared up everyone's questions and concerns if you ask me.

Offline Davej

  • Posts: 630
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2012, 04:11 PM »
good review peter  , nice to see the 420 can do everything my 400 can  [big grin]
I dont mind growing old but i refuse to grow up

Offline GhostFist

  • Posts: 1556
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2012, 04:44 PM »
Good review Peter. you can do 1.5 meter radius with the core maker/ thats cool.

3 things i'd like to see an angle cut in the center of the board
I'd like to see cut performance with a rail
and I'd like to see you review the mafell

Offline Peter Parfitt

  • Magazine/Blog Author
  • *
  • Posts: 4429
    • New Brit Workshop on YouTube
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2012, 04:56 PM »
Good review Peter. you can do 1.5 meter radius with the core maker/ thats cool.

3 things i'd like to see an angle cut in the center of the board
I'd like to see cut performance with a rail
and I'd like to see you review the mafell

Thank you.

I had to cut some things out. I really don't see the point of doing jigsaw work with a guide rail. If a straight cut is long enough to make you think that you need a guide rail then perhaps you need to use a TS. If the cut is too short to warrant a TS then it might just as well be a freehand cut.

I do not go cap in hand asking manufacturers for tools to review but wait for them to contact me or let my magazine organise some work. I will never do 'head to head' or comparison reviews because that type of work is too subjective. It takes a lot of skill and a huge amount of work to do truly fair comparative tests. Many have tried and failed.

Peter


Offline Alan m

  • Posts: 3323
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2012, 05:08 PM »
great job peter as usual.
the manual must be really bad for you to feel that strongly about it.

 i too would like to see the angle base in the convex formation in the middle of a sheet. the concave way looks great thow. the other half of the foot acts like a fence
"A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty."
- Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)

Offline RvB

  • Posts: 225
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2012, 05:13 PM »




I had to cut some things out. I really don't see the point of doing jigsaw work with a guide rail. If a straight cut is long enough to make you think that you need a guide rail then perhaps you need to use a TS. If the cut is too short to warrant a TS then it might just as well be a freehand cut.




Hi peter,

Thanks for the review.. I think that its your personal opinion about not
wanting to use a jigsaw with a guide rail. As a review you should be objective.
Since the manufacturer designed it to work with a special foot for guide rail usage.

I think you should do a review on that topic cause its there always a moment that
you cant use a TS saw and using a jigsaw with a guide might help you out.

Thanks for the review..

Rick
ALLREADY GOT: - Domino DF 500Q set - CS70 precisio - Kapex 120 EB set - TSC 55 REBI plus SCA - TS 55 EBQ  - EHL 65EQ - PS 300 EQ - PS 420 EBQ - Vecturo OSC 18 Li -   - OF 1010 EBQ - OFK 500Q R3 - CTL 26 SD E/A - CTL Midi - CTL MIDI I - DTS 400 EQ - ROTEX 150 FEQ - ROTEX 90 EQ - T 18+3 -  CXS Li 1,5 set x2 - FS 1400/2 x3 - FS 1400/2 - FS 2700/2 - FS 3000/2 - FS 800/2 - FS Bag

D 36 HW RS craftsman cleaning kit - D27/D36 portable cleaning kit - RO90 & DTS 400 abrasive sys - carpenter sys - Fein supercut sys - homemade drills&drivers sys - nailguns sys5 - SYS-ToolBox1 x 2 - SYS-ToolBox2 x 2 - Sys-StorageBox - SYS-CART RB-SYS

WORKIN' REALLY HARD FOR: ETS 150/3 - one extra DTS 400,one extra cxs, PSC 420 eq, centrotec sys, T18+3 PDC18/4, BHC 18.

Offline Festoolfootstool

  • Posts: 2076
  • The trouble with Bob is its all about Bob
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2012, 05:34 PM »
great job peter as usual.
the manual must be really bad for you to feel that strongly about it.

 i too would like to see the angle base in the convex formation in the middle of a sheet. the concave way looks great thow. the other half of the foot acts like a fence

Peters videos allways tell us how brilliant the tools are, so he needs to find fault with something to redress the balance
If the milk turns out to be sour, I ain't the kind of **** to drink it.......

Why do Festool accessories only have a two month guarantee here in the UK ?

Offline neth27

  • Posts: 574
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2012, 05:39 PM »
I would never buy anything on his reviews.. I can find negatives on Festool products, he never does..

John..

Offline green fever

  • Posts: 173
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2012, 06:16 PM »
Neth 27 I would like you to please take the time and review the carved 420 and show us your views if you would not mind , I am all for honest reviews be it good or bad , I have found Peter parfitt to be honest in the reviews , perhaps you may like to highlight some where he should have been more objective unless Peter has not reviewed the tools you do not favour , I myself have certain views on a few festool tools and have read on this forum about them but I can't recall Peter posting about them but how many people have reviewed the festool FAKIR ? I doubt Peter cherry picks the tools he reviews and I have to trust him on what I have seen thus far , Peter well done in getting this video on the forum , green

Offline ART at WORK

  • Posts: 210
  • Buy less Recycle more
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2012, 07:57 PM »
Thanks for a great review Peter, and getting the film done in such short time. It would have taken me longer to edit something together, and my video camera has packed up. So I took the easy route to do photos.

I will get some of the carvex blades and give the machine another run for its money.

I am very glad you mentioned the web site its so bad and the really awful users manual.
I meet a friend the other day who works for a firm that produces instruction manuals. I was tempted to tell her to contact Festool, she then said they had so much work they weren't looking for new clients. So I left it.

One of my favourite TED talks is about simplifying legal jargon. I embed the video at the bottom.
I think machine manuals should follow some basic rules. Like the uses know nothing and everything.
So give them all the information and don't treat them like an idiot.
Lots of Photos, illustrations, cartoons, mechine users are usually visual people.
Give good examples or the things you can do with the machine and maybe some examples of a few exercises to get used to the new machine.

Just my thoughts.
Maybe a new thread coming up here. "If Festool made a new manual it should ...."

Ted Talks


Having difficulty with the embed, if one of the moderators would be so kind, im going to in bed now.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2012, 10:42 PM by Shane Holland »
Kapex 120 + UG Set, ETS 150/3, DF 500, RO 90, MFT/3, CTL 36 AC, RO 150, 0F 900, OF 2200, T15+3,  CDD 12, TS 55, A5 Router table, First Aid kit, LR 32 SYS, FS 800, FS 1400/2, FS 1400/2 LR32 FS2 3000, CTL Midi + Cleaning Set, Clamps, Parallel Guides, Centrotec drills, Zobo Forstner set and countersinks, Routers, Systainers, Sortainers, Sys Cart, Syslite

Offline GhostFist

  • Posts: 1556
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2012, 10:17 PM »
I've never used my trion with a guide rail as I haven't seen the need. I was just curious as to what the performance is like as it's a feature the saw boasts.
As for my request for the mafell review, i'm not interested in a head to head, just your reaction to that tools performance.
All the best,
I always enjoy your vids and appreciate the time you spend on them.

Offline Peter Halle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 12336
  • Remington Steele - My Third Boy
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2012, 10:21 PM »
Peter,

Thanks for that video.  You are a trooper, doing that while you were not feeling your best.  I appreciate the fact that you put the Carvex 420 thru the paces and just showed it doing its thing.

Another Peter.

Offline Scott Burt

  • Magazine/Blog Author
  • *
  • Posts: 2005
  • painter/writer/educator
    • Prep to Finish
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2012, 10:25 PM »
how many people have reviewed the festool FAKIR ?

I have.

Offline Peter Halle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 12336
  • Remington Steele - My Third Boy
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2012, 10:36 PM »
how many people have reviewed the festool FAKIR ?

I have.

Start a new thread maybe?  I don't have wallpaper and hate it with a passion and would love to see it.

Peter
« Last Edit: October 13, 2012, 01:43 AM by Peter Halle »

Offline Festool USA

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8430
    • Festool USA
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #15 on: October 12, 2012, 10:48 PM »
Yeah, missed the Fakir review, Scott. Post us a link or something.  [popcorn]

Offline Scott Burt

  • Magazine/Blog Author
  • *
  • Posts: 2005
  • painter/writer/educator
    • Prep to Finish
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #16 on: October 12, 2012, 10:49 PM »
how many people have reviewed the festool FAKIR ?

I have.

Start a new thread maybe?  I have wallpaper with a passion but would love to see it.

Peter

Oh, I won't muddy up a good Carvex thread with the Fakir.

I will definitely make it a dedicated thread when I do publish it, and I would be happy to share it exclusively here.

Unfortunately, its on a list of draft form reviews that may not see daylight for a bit, and there are several much more relevant tools on the list (my opinion, but likely to reflect consensus). And it is a tool that has an unusual range of strength/weakness extremes. Sometimes I think that readers of reviews don't understand that reviews with strong negative (or con) components take longer to compile and present than more favorable ones. However, I can honestly say that some of the tools that I have written (and shared video) the most critically of, have been the most appreciated by the manufacturer of the tool. I had one case where an engineer from the manufacturer called to thank me for telling the truth about how bad the tool sucked, so that the corporate layers would see it and agree that either a redesign or complete removal of the line was in order. To me, critical versus favorable reviewing is similar to jury patterns in court. Not guilty verdicts are returned quickly in comparison with the deliberation that goes into a guilty verdict, and sometimes the jury is entirely hung. Just my $.02.

PS...Peter, if you hate wallpaper, you ought to own a Fakir.

Offline Scott Burt

  • Magazine/Blog Author
  • *
  • Posts: 2005
  • painter/writer/educator
    • Prep to Finish
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #17 on: October 12, 2012, 10:52 PM »
Yeah, missed the Fakir review, Scott. Post us a link or something.  [popcorn]

When it graduates from draft form, it'll be visible. Its a tough one to incorporate proper footage with. Believe me, watching a video of wallpaper stripping is only slightly more fun than wallpaper stripping itself.

Offline Jaybolishes

  • Posts: 399
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #18 on: October 12, 2012, 11:01 PM »
Thanks for making the review Peter.  I wonder why the blade ejection lever isn't green, I might not be able to find it! [tongue]

Offline richard.selwyn

  • Posts: 635
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #19 on: October 13, 2012, 03:07 AM »
Thanks for the review. I particularly liked your rant about the instructions. An excuse I have heard in the past was that professionals in Germany had long apprenticeships and therefore knew how to use their tools. To know about the pendulum setting seems unlikely though. The "instructions" say to set the pendulum between 0 and 1 when using the circle cutter - which setting did you use to get the circle shown in the test?
( I have some Felder machines which are excellent, but their instructions also seem on a par with the Festool ones. Luckily they have a FOG as well.)

I was hoping to cut some 2 metre diameter circles in 22 mm ply but am wondering if I need to do it freehand and then clean up with a router as the instructions seem to limit the circle jig to 20mm Any thoughts?
Richard.

Offline Peter Parfitt

  • Magazine/Blog Author
  • *
  • Posts: 4429
    • New Brit Workshop on YouTube
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #20 on: October 13, 2012, 03:26 AM »
Thanks for the review. I particularly liked your rant about the instructions. An excuse I have heard in the past was that professionals in Germany had long apprenticeships and therefore knew how to use their tools. To know about the pendulum setting seems unlikely though. The "instructions" say to set the pendulum between 0 and 1 when using the circle cutter - which setting did you use to get the circle shown in the test?
( I have some Felder machines which are excellent, but their instructions also seem on a par with the Festool ones. Luckily they have a FOG as well.)

I was hoping to cut some 2 metre diameter circles in 22 mm ply but am wondering if I need to do it freehand and then clean up with a router as the instructions seem to limit the circle jig to 20mm Any thoughts?
Richard.
Hi Richard

I had the pendulum setting in position 1 and the results were excellent. I did not try any other settings.

I would have thought that 22mm is close enough to 20mm to allow everything to work okay. You should do a test on a piece that will be on the scrap side of the cut. I am sorry if I am inviting you to suck eggs (there should be a smiley thing for that) but do let the saw do the work.

Good luck.

Peter

Offline waynelang2001

  • Posts: 506
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #21 on: October 13, 2012, 03:31 AM »
Im not one to nitpick Peter but it was imposible for us to see the square on those cuts, A close up would have been nice. For me when i say square it means 90 degrees so it would be nice to see those cuts up close with the square  run along the full lenght of the cut. Cheers.
Latest Festool purchase?? The CXS.....Next Festool purchase???? The Domino.....

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Langley-Woodworks/147551115290424

Offline Timtool

  • Retailer
  • *
  • Posts: 1014
    • My website
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #22 on: October 13, 2012, 03:34 AM »
Nice review Peter, in the auto mode did you not have problems with the saw speeding up suddenly and making you jump forward and missing the line you were trying to follow?
And what did you think of the on/off switch position? For me i cannot reach it comfortably with any fingers when i am holding the saw on the barrel, so i need to hold it upside down while it's running so i can slip my finger just far enough to reach the switch. I find that quite fiddely and flat out dangerous.

It would be nice to see you use a 400 model so you can give your opinion on both, the first and only time i tried to use my 400 on the rail was when i needed to  shorten garden fences that had 90mm thick posts on each end, i quickly gave up because the blade was following the wood grain instead of the rail and would go out of the guide untill it would bend. I wasn't asking for a perfect cut, but it couldn't do the job at all. And in that particular case the jigsaw plus rail was the only tool capable of doing such cuts in one pass.
Instead i had to go out and buy a plunge saw, and still use the jigsaw for the posts.
BR10, MFK 700, OS 400, ETS EC 150/3, KA 65-plus,TS55R, CT22E, CTLmini, CTL MIDI, CTM 36 AC HD, Kapex KS120, ETS125, ETS150/5, RO150, RO90, CXS-set, T-15+3 set, DTS400, OF900, OF1010, OF2200 set, Carvex PS420 EBQ set, EHL 65, SSU 200, Centrotec installer set, LR32-sys, FS-800, FS-LR-1400x2, domino 500+domino sys, domino 700 XL, Surfix-sys, Sys-box 1, Syslite, LEV-350, Sys-box,MFTB/1-2-4... MFTC, MFSC

Offline Steve Rowe

  • Posts: 830
  • Teach them safety when they are young.
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #23 on: October 13, 2012, 08:58 AM »
Nice review Peter.  From the video, it appears as if the battery powered Carvex has sufficient power.  Would you care to comment about the battery life?  I think another downside to me would be the fact that only one battery is included in the kit.  I have yet to purchase any battery powered tool that did not include two batteries.


Offline Peter Parfitt

  • Magazine/Blog Author
  • *
  • Posts: 4429
    • New Brit Workshop on YouTube
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #24 on: October 13, 2012, 11:09 AM »
Nice review Peter, in the auto mode did you not have problems with the saw speeding up suddenly and making you jump forward and missing the line you were trying to follow?
And what did you think of the on/off switch position? For me i cannot reach it comfortably with any fingers when i am holding the saw on the barrel, so i need to hold it upside down while it's running so i can slip my finger just far enough to reach the switch. I find that quite fiddely and flat out dangerous.

It would be nice to see you use a 400 model so you can give your opinion on both, the first and only time i tried to use my 400 on the rail was when i needed to  shorten garden fences that had 90mm thick posts on each end, i quickly gave up because the blade was following the wood grain instead of the rail and would go out of the guide untill it would bend. I wasn't asking for a perfect cut, but it couldn't do the job at all. And in that particular case the jigsaw plus rail was the only tool capable of doing such cuts in one pass.
Instead i had to go out and buy a plunge saw, and still use the jigsaw for the posts.

Hi Tim

The very first time I did an 'auto' cut I was taken aback by the sudden application of power but once you know that it is coming you get used to it. the on-off switches are fine, again one gets used to them quite quickly.

Using any jigsaw on a rail or next to a solid guide clamped to the wood is prone to all sorts of problems. When you guide a piece of wood through a bandsaw you are constantly doing little adjustments to keep the cut straight or on the line. The same is true with a jigsaw and when you do a freehand cut you do loads of little adjustments to keep it on the line. If you use a rail you can have problems due to grain direction and other factors out of the control of the user.

Peter

Offline Peter Parfitt

  • Magazine/Blog Author
  • *
  • Posts: 4429
    • New Brit Workshop on YouTube
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #25 on: October 13, 2012, 11:15 AM »
Nice review Peter.  From the video, it appears as if the battery powered Carvex has sufficient power.  Would you care to comment about the battery life?  I think another downside to me would be the fact that only one battery is included in the kit.  I have yet to purchase any battery powered tool that did not include two batteries.



If you saw my 'interim video' cutting the thick lumps of wood you will have seen that I had to recharge halfway through the maple cut. By that stage I had already done 4 or 5 cuts through the 100mm square softwood plus a handful of other practice cuts. Battery life is okay but I would rather have a mains powered machine. If your work style requires you to have battery power then you really do need a second battery so that you can keep going. I was suprised that the kit came with just the one battery. If I remember correctly, you can plug many of the Festool batteries in other Festool machines which would help if you already had other battery powered tools.

Peter

Offline waynelang2001

  • Posts: 506
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #26 on: October 13, 2012, 12:17 PM »
Any thoughts on my comment above Peter? I am looking to get the battery powered 420 so some closeups on the squareness of the cuts would be great.
Latest Festool purchase?? The CXS.....Next Festool purchase???? The Domino.....

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Langley-Woodworks/147551115290424

Offline Peter Parfitt

  • Magazine/Blog Author
  • *
  • Posts: 4429
    • New Brit Workshop on YouTube
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #27 on: October 13, 2012, 01:49 PM »
Any thoughts on my comment above Peter? I am looking to get the battery powered 420 so some closeups on the squareness of the cuts would be great.

The only cut that is visibly off is the 110mm deep cut in the hard maple. Try the machine yourself if you are not sure.

Peter

Offline waynelang2001

  • Posts: 506
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #28 on: October 13, 2012, 01:55 PM »
Any thoughts on my comment above Peter? I am looking to get the battery powered 420 so some closeups on the squareness of the cuts would be great.

The only cut that is visibly off is the 110mm deep cut in the hard maple. Try the machine yourself if you are not sure.

Peter

Thanks Peter, I can also see the counter top is off abit. I would love to go test it out myself but noone has it in stock here. They are only willing to order it if I want to buy it. Seems like the Festool support here in South Africa has gone to the dogs in the last year or two.
Latest Festool purchase?? The CXS.....Next Festool purchase???? The Domino.....

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Langley-Woodworks/147551115290424

Offline southern_guy

  • Posts: 66
Re: Festool Carvex PSC420 Review - Video
« Reply #29 on: October 13, 2012, 02:56 PM »
My TS55 cuts perfectly square. It can do this because it has an adjustment mechanism as part of the design. The squareness of the cut can be adjusted and set. Anyone who expects a 100% square cut from a tool out of the box that doesn't have any adjustment mechanism is nuts.

If you want a 100% square cut, use a tool designed to give you one!