Festool Owners Group

FESTOOL DISCUSSIONS => Festool Tool Reviews => Topic started by: nj_five on September 12, 2021, 10:40 AM

Title: CARVEX PS vs PSC
Post by: nj_five on September 12, 2021, 10:40 AM
Found a few threads discussing cordless vs corded on the jigsaw but not ergonomics. Anyone else find that the corded version has a better grip/control than the cordless?

Seems, at least for me, that the position of the battery makes it hard to get a good grip on the back of the tool.
Title: Re: CARVEX PS vs PSC
Post by: Bert Vanderveen on September 12, 2021, 11:59 AM
I mostly read/hear that the battery affects the balance, not in a positive way. But I do not have first hand experience. : )
Title: Re: CARVEX PS vs PSC
Post by: Gj12 on September 12, 2021, 12:15 PM
I found the corded version more comfortable, but not having the cord was worth it for my work flow.
Title: Re: CARVEX PS vs PSC
Post by: Birdhunter on September 12, 2021, 12:33 PM
I’ve got both. I always pull out the battery version. Not ergonomics, just more convenient. My favorite is the Bosch jigsaw.
Title: Re: CARVEX PS vs PSC
Post by: MrToolJunkie on September 12, 2021, 11:58 PM
I have found the cordless has better control than the corded. I never got quality cuts with the corded saw because it bounced around too much. The cordless has always performed well for me. I sold the corded saw.
Title: Re: CARVEX PS vs PSC
Post by: leakyroof on October 07, 2021, 03:27 PM
I have found the cordless has better control than the corded. I never got quality cuts with the corded saw because it bounced around too much. The cordless has always performed well for me. I sold the corded saw.
  Really.... interesting.... I would have thought the power source would not have affected the drivetrain if you will of the saw that much.... Hmm...Your complaint of the Bouncing Around is something I can def relate to with my own Carvex.... [scratch chin] [scratch chin]
Title: Re: CARVEX PS vs PSC
Post by: mino on October 07, 2021, 06:18 PM
I have found the cordless has better control than the corded. I never got quality cuts with the corded saw because it bounced around too much. The cordless has always performed well for me. I sold the corded saw.
  Really.... interesting.... I would have thought the power source would not have affected the drivetrain if you will of the saw that much.... Hmm...Your complaint of the Bouncing Around is something I can def relate to with my own Carvex.... [scratch chin] [scratch chin]
The battery is heavy and far from the cut - it takes a significant momentum to move the saw with the battery weight, making the tool more stable.

When I need stability, I use my PSC with the heavy 5.2 battery.
When I want agility/work on ceiling etc., I use it with a 1,5 Ah 12V battery from my C12 which is 1/3 the weight or so.

Is almost like having two different saws in one.
Title: Re: CARVEX PS vs PSC
Post by: MrToolJunkie on October 07, 2021, 07:25 PM
Agreed! Swapping for smaller batteries is a plus.
Title: Re: CARVEX PS vs PSC
Post by: Coen on October 14, 2021, 04:54 PM
And then you work on the ceiling without dust extraction? Okay.

Although having said that... I spend a bunch of time this weekend on a folding stairs / ladder / whatever is the correct English word for the A-shaped steps, with a battery powered vacuum with shoulder strap and a cordless drill in the other  [tongue]

So the weight issue... I guess I can just keep my Trion, that one is heavier than the Carvex. I was never really bothered by the weight. The hose was the bigger issue and in some houses the 3.5m hose really cuts it tight.