Having trouble with your Festool power tool? Well, we're here to help you. Before posting to the forum, give us a chance to diagnose and resolve your issue. In the U.S. and Canada, call us toll-free at 888-337-8600 on Monday-Friday between 8a-5p EST or contact us via email at service@festoolusa.com. For other countries, please visit http://www.festool.com for contact information for your local Festool service department.

Author Topic: ETS EC125/3 EQ Power Problem  (Read 987 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Getmaverick

  • Posts: 155
ETS EC125/3 EQ Power Problem
« on: September 18, 2019, 02:30 PM »
Okay, my sander is just 6 weeks out of warranty, and now it started to shut off automatically.
The problem seems to be the plug it connector on the tool, it seems loose. The cord works fine on other tools.
I also tried using a new cord, same issue. Is there anything to be done besides sending it in for repair?
Thanks

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline VirTERM

  • Posts: 92
Re: ETS EC125/3 EQ Power Problem
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2019, 09:09 PM »
Do you have auto dc hose detection on? Could it be that your hose is loose or not plugged all the way in?

Online PeterJJames13

  • Posts: 213
Re: ETS EC125/3 EQ Power Problem
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2019, 09:34 PM »
Check out Sedge's Instagram. I just saw one last night about a mode where the sander shuts down if the hose is disconnected. Could that be it?

Offline Getmaverick

  • Posts: 155
Re: ETS EC125/3 EQ Power Problem
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2019, 10:04 PM »
No its not a hose issue. I can put pressure on the cord connection and it works fine.

Offline Gregor

  • Posts: 1652
Re: ETS EC125/3 EQ Power Problem
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2019, 07:33 AM »
Okay, my sander is just 6 weeks out of warranty, and now it started to shut off automatically.
Kindly ask service for leniency?

Offline Getmaverick

  • Posts: 155
Re: ETS EC125/3 EQ Power Problem
« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2019, 03:39 PM »
Finally repaired this today. I replaced the plug in on the sander. I had to purchase the stake on connectors separately as they don't come attached for some stupid reason.
I used these www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01962MW2G/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1.
They are a little small so I had to use some pliers to gently press them on. I then removed them and crimped them to the wires, the reassembled. Sander works like new again. I believe I have less than $15.00 for the repair.

Online Alex

  • Posts: 6431
Re: ETS EC125/3 EQ Power Problem
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2019, 01:14 AM »
Finally repaired this today. I replaced the plug in on the sander. I had to purchase the stake on connectors separately as they don't come attached for some stupid reason.

Do you mean this part? I have replaced them a few times myself on tools and they always come with the connectors attached. The picture from Ekat USA also shows them as intergral parts.

Contact USA to make sure and I'm sure they'll send you a new one.


Offline Getmaverick

  • Posts: 155
Re: ETS EC125/3 EQ Power Problem
« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2019, 08:34 AM »
Finally repaired this today. I replaced the plug in on the sander. I had to purchase the stake on connectors separately as they don't come attached for some stupid reason.

Do you mean this part? I have replaced them a few times myself on tools and they always come with the connectors attached. The picture from Ekat USA also shows them as intergral parts.

Contact USA to make sure and I'm sure they'll send you a new one.

(Attachment Link)

You are correct. I initially went to EKAT for the part, and after spending 20 minutes trying to find it, I purchased elsewhere.
Thanks for clearing this up. Lesson learned.