Author Topic: So this is probably a dumb question....  (Read 28960 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Drew1house

  • Posts: 3
So this is probably a dumb question....
« on: January 10, 2008, 01:39 AM »
I am kind of a newby with Festool as my local store does not carry it any longer... I love those guys..  Anyhow I have a CT33 and I must have blown a fuse in the switched plug... I am sure this is a simple question but is there a breaker or a fuse that runs that plug and how to I reset it?

Thanks... Drew

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Daviddubya

  • Posts: 704
  • Arizona, USA
Re: So this is probably a dumb question....
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2008, 09:26 AM »
Hmmm.  Are you sure you did not trip a circuit breaker???
David W. Falkenstein
in Cave Creek, AZ, USA

Offline Emmanuel

  • Posts: 174
Re: So this is probably a dumb question....
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2008, 12:27 PM »
I think I had a similar issue.
Turned out to be the plug it cord.
Is the vaccum working fine wihtout the auto start?

Emmanuel


Offline Dan Clark

  • Posts: 545
    • talkFestool
Re: So this is probably a dumb question....
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2008, 12:27 PM »
Drew,

It's not possible to help solve the problem unless we understand the problem.  You might have a bad CT.  It might be something wrong with the setup.  As David wrote, it might be a blown circuit breaker.   It might be user error.  Could be almost anything.   So...

What is the problem that you are trying to solve?  What are the symptoms?   What are the steps that lead up to the problem?

Regards,

Dan.

p.s., a famous tech support story - A user calls up tech support complaining that the computer doesn't work:

Customer: I'm having problems with my 'puter.
Tech Support: What's the problem?

Customer: The screen is black!
Tech Support: Hmmm...  Is the power switch on?

Customer: Uhhhh...  Yes!
Tech Support: OK...  Is it plugged in?

Customer: Gimme a sec and I'll look...   
Tech Support: OK...

Customer: I can't see if it's plugged in. 
Tech Support: Oh?

Customer: The lights are off.
Tech Support: Can you turn them on?

Customer: No. The power is out in the building.
Tech Support: (Speechless!!!)   ::) ::) ::)

Offline Steve Rowe

  • Posts: 829
  • Teach them safety when they are young.
Re: So this is probably a dumb question....
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2008, 01:13 PM »

p.s., a famous tech support story - A user calls up tech support complaining that the computer doesn't work:

Customer: I'm having problems with my 'puter.
Tech Support: What's the problem?

Customer: The screen is black!
Tech Support: Hmmm...  Is the power switch on?

Customer: Uhhhh...  Yes!
Tech Support: OK...  Is it plugged in?

Customer: Gimme a sec and I'll look...   
Tech Support: OK...

Customer: I can't see if it's plugged in. 
Tech Support: Oh?

Customer: The lights are off.
Tech Support: Can you turn them on?

Customer: No. The power is out in the building.
Tech Support: (Speechless!!!)   ::) ::) ::)
Clearly a missed opportunity to sell a UPS.
Steve

Offline Jesse Cloud

  • Posts: 1741
  • Festooling at the end of a dirt road in New Mexico
Re: So this is probably a dumb question....
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2008, 01:22 PM »
Can't resist.  Many eons ago I did tech support for a computer company.  We called ourselves easy to use because you could abbreviate commands to the first three characters, which usually meant the subsequent characters were ignored.   If you were typing in data and wanting to start fresh with a clean slate, you typed the command SCRATCH or just SCR.  The computer responded with "Ready for input".

Well, one day my phone rang and a very distraught customer said "I was having trouble with the computer and got really mad.  I typed in "Screw you" and it came back with "Ready for input."  So what do I do now?"

I had a really hard time not laughing...

Offline Jim Dailey

  • Posts: 278
Re: So this is probably a dumb question....
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2008, 01:38 PM »
Jesse & Dan your posts reminded me of something that just happened to me....

I use a blue tooth headset on my cell phone that allows for voice commands.  On the whole it works well, but the other day either through my haste or because of back ground noise the voice recognition wasn't working properly....  the digital voice in my ear was not responding to my commands...  So in frustration I say "F__k YOU!!!"  It responded "Dialing Sue"    "Sue" is my ex-wife!!!!  :o  Who say technology doesn't have a sense of humor!!! ;D

jim
Life is just a series of projects...

Offline Drew1house

  • Posts: 3
Re: So this is probably a dumb question....
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2008, 02:17 PM »
Thanks for the quick replies... OK... I see the need for more info... The vac works fine... just stopped starting when the power was switched on on the auto setting when the tool was started. The breaker that the vac is plugged into plainly is not tripped... I may be stupid and may be missing a very obvious breaker on the vac itself. (I figure this is pretty likely) however I have not seen it. I do see the little round disk by the vac controls and figured that was a cover to a fuse or breaker but do not know if I push it or twist it off or if it is something totally separate. I did look on here for a  thread addressing this already... It is probably so obvious no one ever asked about it before. I tripped or lost power or whatever it did cutting 10/4 maple... I can plug the saw or domino or Rotex into the wall and turn the vac on manually but the auto setting will not turn the tool or the vac on.

Drew

Offline Brice Burrell

  • Posts: 7371
  • Remodeling Contractor
    • The Green and Dark Blue blog
Re: So this is probably a dumb question....
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2008, 04:55 PM »
  Drew, call Festool's service dept. It is my understanding they can walk you through the trouble shooting process on the phone, have a set of torx screw drivers handy.
Check out my new blog, The Green and Dark Blue Blog.

Offline Garry

  • Posts: 391
    • AVID
Re: So this is probably a dumb question....
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2008, 09:42 PM »
Some of the computer tech support stories are great.  One of my favorites (although not tech support) is when someone called (Dell?) to order a new cup holder for their PC. 

The sales associate responded, "I'm sorry, we don't have cupholders as on option on our computers"

The customer responds, "that's odd, this one came with one built in"

Sales associate, "are you sure it's one of ours"

Customer, "I'm absolutely certain"

Sales (baffled) "Ma'am, we've never sold a computer with a cupholder"

Customer (quite indignant), "I'm telling you, I push the button and it pops right out the front"

Sales...Stunned silence

Most of my tech support calls are "RTFM" related.


Read
The
F***ing
Manual
http://www.avidhome.com  You're only young once, but you can be immature forever!