Author Topic: Fein multimaster inserts still available?  (Read 8234 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline htroberts

  • Posts: 15
Re: Fein multimaster inserts still available?
« Reply #30 on: December 28, 2020, 08:35 PM »
Amazon has--or had, I may have snagged the last one--Fein Systainers for the Multimaster, apparently complete with insert, $115.

do you have the Amazon item number for what you bought?

Offline Coen

  • Posts: 1809
Re: Fein multimaster inserts still available?
« Reply #31 on: July 02, 2022, 07:49 PM »




I have that one. It's kinda junk. Half the Systainer is filled with EPS, then almost nothing fits besides the tool and cord. On the bottom of the inlay there isn't even a cut-out for the rib on the bottom of the Systainer. Makes me think it's some kind of internship inlay...
« Last Edit: July 03, 2022, 10:51 AM by Coen »

Offline Vondawg

  • Posts: 487
Re: Fein multimaster inserts still available?
« Reply #32 on: July 02, 2022, 09:39 PM »
Agreeā€¦ it wastes too much space
There are no mistakes....just new designs.

Offline Coen

  • Posts: 1809
Re: Fein multimaster inserts still available?
« Reply #33 on: July 03, 2022, 10:55 AM »
I also have the accessories Systainer from Fein, that is even worse;


I got them in a good deal, so I could say I was paid to get that insert...  [big grin]

It has the perforated sanding pads... but not the dust extraction part... that isn't in the main Systainer either. And it seems the only way to get that... is with yet another pad.

In a way Fein's own box is pretty good. But it doesn't stack with anything else, so...
« Last Edit: July 03, 2022, 11:17 AM by Coen »

Offline Crazyraceguy

  • Posts: 1881
Re: Fein multimaster inserts still available?
« Reply #34 on: July 03, 2022, 11:00 AM »
Plus, you have to be very mindful about how you wind the cord, or the lid won't close right.
I had one, complete unit in the Systainer from Fein, that was the biggest annoyance. The cord is nice and soft, but it is in that "European" style of being very long, compared to US standards. You have to coil it up pretty tight for it to fit. Therein lies the beauty of Plug-it cables. None of my Festool machines have the cable in the Systainer, except the RAS115, which is my only complaint with it.
CSX
DF500 + assortment set
PS420 + Base kit
OF1010
OF1010F
OF1400
MFK700 (2)
TS55, FS1080, FS1400 holey, FS1900, FS3000
CT26E + Workshop cleaning set
RO90
RO125
ETS EC 125
RAS115
ETS 125 (2)
TS75
Shaper Origin/Workstation
MFT clamps set
Installers set
Centrotech organizer set

Offline Coen

  • Posts: 1809
Re: Fein multimaster inserts still available?
« Reply #35 on: July 03, 2022, 11:11 AM »
Standard 4m cord. Why shorter? The DE hose is 3.5m, so 4m is a nice length of cord. Machines with less... I'll either not buy or replace the cord.

The Plug-It cord I store in the Systainer with the machine. Only in my PS-300 Systainer that was annoying, but that is completely fixed now with my own custom Systainer for it. See here; https://www.festoolownersgroup.com/festool-and-tanos-systainers/show-your-systainer/msg632691/#msg632691
« Last Edit: July 03, 2022, 11:14 AM by Coen »

Offline Crazyraceguy

  • Posts: 1881
Re: Fein multimaster inserts still available?
« Reply #36 on: July 03, 2022, 06:52 PM »
Standard 4m cord. Why shorter? The DE hose is 3.5m, so 4m is a nice length of cord. Machines with less... I'll either not buy or replace the cord.

The Plug-It cord I store in the Systainer with the machine. Only in my PS-300 Systainer that was annoying, but that is completely fixed now with my own custom Systainer for it. See here; https://www.festoolownersgroup.com/festool-and-tanos-systainers/show-your-systainer/msg632691/#msg632691

Coen, I couldn't tell you? It's just the way it is. I didn't say it was good. It's not like there is some specific length, they are fairly random, just shorter than 3.5m.
If I had to guess, I would say that it is probably a combination of someone thinking it is less of a tripped hazard and saving a few pennies per unit. Somehow that same line of thinking often requires an extension cord? Not the smartest in my opinion. I generally prefer the European standards or procedures. They seem to have been actually thought out. The only one I'm not such a fan of is the new power-interrupt thing. It is undoubtedly safer in 99% of cases, but not so handy for router tables.

I have 2 Plug-it cables out and ready for use. One on the CT at one end of the bench and the other hangs on the handle of my toolbox at the other end. Sometimes I use a few of the tools without extraction. The PS420 and sometimes OF1010 go without. This way I don't have to deal with the cables when removing/returning the tools and I get the benefit of having some of the cables totally un-used. The get no damage or wear that way. If something happens to one, it can be replaced with another that is 100% new. The sad thing is, when you have as many of them as I do, it's a whole lot of money, for effectively nothing.  I probably have 10 of them in a drawer and still use the original 2 that I left out.
CSX
DF500 + assortment set
PS420 + Base kit
OF1010
OF1010F
OF1400
MFK700 (2)
TS55, FS1080, FS1400 holey, FS1900, FS3000
CT26E + Workshop cleaning set
RO90
RO125
ETS EC 125
RAS115
ETS 125 (2)
TS75
Shaper Origin/Workstation
MFT clamps set
Installers set
Centrotech organizer set