Author Topic: Air compressor in Systainer?  (Read 56738 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rnt80

  • Posts: 953
    • Agape Wood Design
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #30 on: December 06, 2009, 04:08 PM »
I found this video on youtube, this guy put a compressor in a systainer, pretty cool.


Does anyone know what model of Senco compressor this is and what modifications need to be made in order to accomplish this setup?  I tried contacting the guy that posted this video but haven't heard back from him.
Russell Tribby
Gilbert AZ
www.agapewooddesign.com

Offline tDot

  • Posts: 87
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #31 on: December 06, 2009, 04:29 PM »
Senco PC1010, with the handle portion of the roll cage cut off.

Offline rnt80

  • Posts: 953
    • Agape Wood Design
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #32 on: December 06, 2009, 05:39 PM »
Thanks.  On the video it looks like the cord is retractable.  Is that a feature of this model or is that something that he modified?  Are the cord and the air connector accesible on the side like is shown in the video?
Russell Tribby
Gilbert AZ
www.agapewooddesign.com

Offline Peter Halle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 12247
  • Remington Steele - My Third Boy
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #33 on: December 06, 2009, 05:56 PM »
My guess is that he / she has a retractable electrical cord reel mounted under the compressor.  Also probably has a short air hose from the compressor to the cut out in the side of the systainer.  Wish the poster had spent the time shooting better documenting video versus getting artsy.

Peter

Offline richard.selwyn

  • Posts: 635
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #34 on: December 07, 2009, 03:27 PM »
Jonny Round Boy
Did you  ever get around to putting your compressor into a systainer?  I am fed up with carrying mine around as it always tips over in my van.  I am tempted by the Prebena, but it is pricy for a basic compressor.  (I've just bought some systainers from the koffeeshop german outfit - very good prices and speedy delivery and I've got an empty sys 5)

Anyone else any experience?
Richard

Offline Troy B

  • Posts: 21
  • JWB Services, Inc.
    • JWB Services, Inc.
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #35 on: December 21, 2009, 11:49 AM »
If anyone is interested in the systainer mounted air compressor I have all the info on them.  I contacted the German manufacturer and also the US distributor.  I have the specs, models available, cost & availability.  They do not make a 110V unit in stock but can make a run to offer 110V.  The other option is to use a converter from 220V to 110V. Just let me know via PM and I can let you know what I have found out.  Its a cool system but to get it in 110V I would need to have others order them with me so the factory will make a special run.

Just thought someone else may be interested like I was or am.

Troy
Just a small fish in a big pond trying to make a difference one job at a time.
TS-55 , TS-75 , RO 150 FEQ , ETS 150 FEQ , RTS 400 EQ , CT 33 , Various Guide Rails , Guide Rail Accessories

Offline speed

  • Posts: 302
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #36 on: December 21, 2009, 01:07 PM »
OK, well based on the positive responses here, I've decided to take it a stage further. I would say I've decided to actually make it, but this has the makings of one of those projects I never quite get round to carrying through to the end!

Anyway, here's the donor machine, along with size 4 and 5 systainers:

(Attachment Link)

As you can see, fitting it into a 4 would be much more of a sqeeze than a size 5...

In the pictures below, it's clear that the width of both the compressor & tank is considerably less than the width of the systainer:

(Attachment Link)
(Attachment Link)

Which gives me lots of scope for adding one of these self-retracting hose reels behind the tank:

(Attachment Link)

Thanks to Brice for posting the vid that gave me the idea for this! With a retractable hose in there, and a mains connector in the side too, there would be no real need to open the systainer except for maintenance. This means that a Sys 1 or 2 could live permanently on top to hold the air tools.

what compresser is this please? 110v? any weblinks etc.

did you ever fit this, pics etc

i want to make one for when theres power available as nails are 50% cheaper than my 18v dewalt
has made the change. now 100%  T-loc :)

Offline Texastutt

  • Posts: 158
  • Just Do It!
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #37 on: December 21, 2009, 06:34 PM »
There is another site where the guy cut off the handle of the Senco (I love my little Senco). put it in the bottom, hose in the middle and had his 23g pinner and 18g pinners on top. KISS
"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to prosper." - Ben Franklin

Offline jonny round boy

  • Posts: 3227
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #38 on: December 22, 2009, 07:45 AM »
Sorry for not replying sooner, I missed a few of these posts....

No, I never did get around to doing it. The main reason being that I realised I don't use the compressor & nailgun very much. I've also realised that I don't use them often because it's such a pain to dig them out & set them up.  [big grin]

Catch 22....
Festoolian since February 2006

TS55R EBQ saw - CTL26 - CTL Mini - OF1400EBQ router - KS120 Kapex SCMS - ETS150/3 sander - RO90 sander - DF500 Domino - PDC18/4 drill - PSC420 jigsaw - OFK500 trimmer

Wish list (in no particular order!): Anything not listed above....

Offline rnt80

  • Posts: 953
    • Agape Wood Design
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #39 on: January 02, 2010, 12:01 AM »
My guess is that he / she has a retractable electrical cord reel mounted under the compressor.  Also probably has a short air hose from the compressor to the cut out in the side of the systainer.  Wish the poster had spent the time shooting better documenting video versus getting artsy.

Peter

Is there such a thing as a retractable cord reel that has a retractable male end?  I've looked but haven't had much success in finding one.  Everything I've seen has a retractable outlet.  Any reason why I couldn't just buy a plug and an outlet and switch them out on the cord reel?
Russell Tribby
Gilbert AZ
www.agapewooddesign.com

Offline harry_

  • Posts: 1331
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #40 on: January 02, 2010, 09:13 AM »
Quote
Is there such a thing as a retractable cord reel that has a retractable male end?

Yes, and you could probably find one on the wife's vacuum cleaner, although I doubt the gauge would be heavy enough.

As for swapping the ends, I doubt the reel would know the difference or even care.
Disclaimer: This post is for educational and entertainment purposes only. Any resemblance to real persons, living or dead is purely coincidental. Void where prohibited. Some assembly required. Batteries not included. Contents may settle during shipment. Use only as directed. No other warranty expressed or implied. This is not an offer to sell securities. May be too intense for some viewers. No user-serviceable parts inside. Subject to change without notice. One size fits all (very poorly).

Offline woodguy7

  • Posts: 2727
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #41 on: January 03, 2010, 06:22 AM »
I asked the same questions some time ago.  This is the settup i really liked, no fuss.


Woodguy


    Re: Compressor in a systainer
? Reply #11 on: November 16, 2009, 04:18 PM ? Quote  

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Are you thinking of this?  It's a 1 hp Senco.  I just cut off the handle.  I holds a 15 ga., 18 ga., and 23 ga pinner.  50ft of hose, the compressor, and I took the attic lid from my t 15 sys 2 and put it on this sys 5 for nails.  Completely self contained.  I think the thread started out about the attic lid on the drill sys 2's.

Dan

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 dscn0994.jpg (99.65 KB, 528x396 - viewed 128 times.)

 dscn1000.jpg (76.03 KB, 352x264 - viewed 158 times.)

http://festoolownersgroup.com/festool-tools-accessories/compressor-in-a-systainer/msg82789/#msg82789

You will see the pics here

 
 
« Last Edit: January 03, 2010, 06:26 AM by woodguy7 »
If its made of wood, i can make it smaller.
Shirt size medium
p.s- ive started reading these too

Offline Kevin Stricker

  • Posts: 483
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #42 on: July 07, 2012, 09:45 PM »
Sorry for resurrecting an old thread, but I was wondering if anyone had gotten their Senco PC1010 into a T loc sys V.  Have both the systainer and the compressor, but am worried that the new shape of the T Loc is going to cause a problem. Angle grinder on standby waiting for a green light.

Offline Joseph C

  • Posts: 266
    • Integrity Design+Build
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #43 on: July 22, 2012, 11:50 AM »
Playing devil's advocate here:
A PC1010 fits great on TOP of one of my rolling systainer stacks, the rubber feet keep it from sliding, and the dB level is quieter than any other power tool I own.  What's the advantage of deconstructing it to put it inside a $80 dollar box?  [scratch chin]

Btw, I do use a Sys-IV (labeled FASTENING) for all my guns, hose, blower nozzle, caulk gun, and hot melt.
TS75, OF1010, PS300, Domino500, MFT/3, CT22 + WCR, CT MIDI, RS2e, RO150, ETS150, DS400, RO90, Grex 2" micropinner (festool green), and packing everything else into systainers, too.

Offline harry_

  • Posts: 1331
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #44 on: July 22, 2012, 07:58 PM »
Joseph,

I dont have the PC1010. But for me a Sys-compressor is all about packing the truck!
Disclaimer: This post is for educational and entertainment purposes only. Any resemblance to real persons, living or dead is purely coincidental. Void where prohibited. Some assembly required. Batteries not included. Contents may settle during shipment. Use only as directed. No other warranty expressed or implied. This is not an offer to sell securities. May be too intense for some viewers. No user-serviceable parts inside. Subject to change without notice. One size fits all (very poorly).

Offline Kevin Stricker

  • Posts: 483
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #45 on: July 24, 2012, 09:02 PM »
Compressor, 16,18,21 ga nailers and air hose in one package.  Stacked with more tools it cuts down on at least a single trip, maybe two.

ericbuggeln

  • Guest
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #46 on: July 30, 2012, 09:49 PM »
I can tell you that after playing with Seth Semenzas Nail gun/Co2 Sys 4 set up that i am gonna buy a CO2 set up from Lowes for $90, two tanks $60 and a Sys 2 $68 and pair that with a PC pancake, soon to be a Rolair JC10. That way i can just use whats easier and im not taking up a lot more space in the box van. Oh yeah Seth is one cool dude too. Eric

Offline duburban

  • Posts: 1047
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #47 on: July 30, 2012, 10:10 PM »
from my time as a paintballer i'd bet the co2 setup is going to put much more stress on your guns internals. co2 is a cold liquid that turns to gas and where compressed air is just air. i remember toasting so many o rings just screwing the tanks on and off from the flash freeze.

people have been using c02 for a while with finish guns so it can't be a big issue.
helper: i used a festool "circular saw" to do something simple and it made it really hard

me: exactly, it makes simple cuts complicated and complicated cuts simple

ericbuggeln

  • Guest
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #48 on: July 30, 2012, 10:15 PM »
Seth did mention to buy extra O rings. Im sick of carrying a compressor up stairs for a few shots, Eric

Offline richard.selwyn

  • Posts: 635
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #49 on: July 31, 2012, 03:42 PM »
New Senco guns? (too expensive this side of the pond to try)

Offline clive the tech

  • Posts: 1
Re: Air compressor in Systainer?
« Reply #50 on: May 29, 2015, 01:03 PM »
Hi there

Im also thinking of doing this kind of thing but I have got a small stanley compressor from screw fix
I would love to try and fit this into a systainer but I think it maybe to wide

So I may need a senco one aswell