Author Topic: Adding SYS 3 Sort/4 to a stack of T-LOC and Sortainer3 on a SYS-RB  (Read 1797 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tdd

  • Posts: 5
Hi Folks,

My first post here.

Is there a way to connect a SYS 3 Sort/4 sortainer into a stack of T-LOC and Systainer3 sitting on the SYS-RB roll board?

I don't think this is possible without making a special adapter.

Is anyone aware of a ready made adapter to do this?

Thanks,

Trevor
« Last Edit: January 20, 2022, 02:38 AM by tdd »

Offline ghhsolutions

  • Posts: 44
Re: Adding SYS 3 Sort/4 to a stack of T-LOC and Sortainer3 on a SYS-RB
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2022, 03:46 AM »
I appreciate that;

a) This doesn't answer your specific question,
b) Might not be available in your country,

but this is an alternative solution:


Offline simnick

  • Posts: 51
Re: Adding SYS 3 Sort/4 to a stack of T-LOC and Sortainer3 on a SYS-RB
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2022, 04:04 AM »
Anyone know where to get one of those in the US?

Offline ghhsolutions

  • Posts: 44
Re: Adding SYS 3 Sort/4 to a stack of T-LOC and Sortainer3 on a SYS-RB
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2022, 04:15 AM »
I assume this could be easily attached to a piece of ply :



and then these could be used to attach the ply to the top of a T-LOC systainer (note that this particular type need fettling to kit a SYS3)



I made something similar to connect Systainers to DeWALT TSTAK:



Depending on the structure underneath the first part you might not even need any ply.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2022, 04:17 AM by ghhsolutions »

Offline DynaGlide

  • Posts: 1377
Re: Adding SYS 3 Sort/4 to a stack of T-LOC and Sortainer3 on a SYS-RB
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2022, 08:23 AM »
I'm wary of those 3D printed adapters. I've made up two of those boards and the first was off just enough to not work well. The 2nd one worked better and felt secure but you really have to be precise with placement and what was interesting to me was while it fit my Sys 4 Sortainer nicely, my other T-locs didn't fit it.







The only thing keeping the catch/lock from popping off from sideways pressure was it was captured by the base of the WCR-1000:



If you want something ready to order give this guy a shout: STV Racking

His whole side hustle right now is to make CNC cut trays for holding any systainer/packout/tstack box.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2022, 08:26 AM by DynaGlide »
Instagram @matts.garage

Online Coen

  • Posts: 1573
Re: Adding SYS 3 Sort/4 to a stack of T-LOC and Sortainer3 on a SYS-RB
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2022, 12:45 PM »
Hi Folks,

My first post here.

Is there a way to connect a SYS 3 Sort/4 sortainer into a stack of T-LOC and Systainer3 sitting on the SYS-RB roll board?

I don't think this is possible without making a special adapter.

Is anyone aware of a ready made adapter to do this?

Thanks,

Trevor

Only if you have all of the Classic-like Systainers below any T-Loc and Sys3

Offline ghhsolutions

  • Posts: 44
Re: Adding SYS 3 Sort/4 to a stack of T-LOC and Sortainer3 on a SYS-RB
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2022, 01:29 PM »
Quote
Only if you have all of the Classic-like Systainers below any T-Loc and Sys3

I don't think this will work because the current SYS-RB will only lock to a T-LOC or SYS3. The previous RB would connect to classic Systainer. The Sort/4 only has classic connectors. A SYS 3 Sort/4 is not a SYS3, that space is all important!
« Last Edit: January 20, 2022, 02:01 PM by ghhsolutions »

Offline squall_line

  • Posts: 1386
Re: Adding SYS 3 Sort/4 to a stack of T-LOC and Sortainer3 on a SYS-RB
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2022, 02:11 PM »
A SYS 3 Sort/4 is not a SYS3, that space is all important!

A SYS 3 Sort/4 is also not a SYS-Sort IV/3, which would latch to a SYS-RB.

And the SYS-RB is not a SYS-Roll, even though the RB stands for "Roll Board".

I think the same people who named these things must have worked at Infiniti or BMW or something, since the 328 no longer has a 2.8l engine but the Q50 is a G37, the latter of which had a 3.7l engine but the former of which doesn't have a 5.0...

Online Coen

  • Posts: 1573
Re: Adding SYS 3 Sort/4 to a stack of T-LOC and Sortainer3 on a SYS-RB
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2022, 02:45 PM »
Quote
Only if you have all of the Classic-like Systainers below any T-Loc and Sys3

I don't think this will work because the current SYS-RB will only lock to a T-LOC or SYS3. The previous RB would connect to classic Systainer. The Sort/4 only has classic connectors. A SYS 3 Sort/4 is not a SYS3, that space is all important!

Oooh, that new (Festool 204869) thing. I thought he had the oldest one (Festool 492388), or the previous one (like Festool 495020)

Yeah, then he should get that previous version. Also sold directly by Tanos, and also by Makita as "Makita P-83886"

Offline cpw

  • Posts: 336
Re: Adding SYS 3 Sort/4 to a stack of T-LOC and Sortainer3 on a SYS-RB
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2022, 03:09 PM »
If we mean "Tanos - T-LOC SYS-Sort IV/3 systainer, Light Gray", then it integrates very well with either the old or new sys cart.  It can be on the bottom, or above any M or L SYS3 or TLOC regular/MIDI systainer.  It just can't do well with the Sys3 XL.


Offline ghhsolutions

  • Posts: 44
Re: Adding SYS 3 Sort/4 to a stack of T-LOC and Sortainer3 on a SYS-RB
« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2022, 03:35 PM »
If we mean "Tanos - T-LOC SYS-Sort IV/3 systainer, Light Gray", then it integrates very well with either the old or new sys cart.  It can be on the bottom, or above any M or L SYS3 or TLOC regular/MIDI systainer.  It just can't do well with the Sys3 XL.

No, it's the SYS 3-SORT/4

Online Coen

  • Posts: 1573
Re: Adding SYS 3 Sort/4 to a stack of T-LOC and Sortainer3 on a SYS-RB
« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2022, 10:53 AM »
Yes, Sys 3 is something else than Sys3

Offline tdd

  • Posts: 5
Re: Adding SYS 3 Sort/4 to a stack of T-LOC and Sortainer3 on a SYS-RB
« Reply #12 on: January 27, 2022, 12:58 AM »
OP here.

Thanks everyone for you answers.

Looks like the only way is with a special adapter - as I thought might be the case