Festool Owners Group

FESTOOL DISCUSSIONS => Ask Festool => Topic started by: briankb on January 06, 2014, 01:31 PM

Title: Sys-Midi Systainer on SysRoll?
Post by: briankb on January 06, 2014, 01:31 PM
I just got a new order in which included a Sys-MIDI systainer and a Sys-Roll transport.

I needed the Sys-Midi to hold some of my Woodpecker and other measuring tools and the Sys-Roll to tide me over until I could make the awesome MFT Tool Cart by TimTool.

I can not seem to get the MIDI to fit on the Sys-Roll, is it supposed to be able to fit?

I did notice and understand "Not compatible with Classic Systainers and Sortainers" but I did expect it to fit on the Sys-Roll.
Title: Re: Sys-Midi Systainer on SysRoll?
Post by: TOOLTOWN on January 06, 2014, 01:33 PM
The sys-roll is set up kind of like a classic sys as far as attaching things goes.  If you put a regular t-loc on the sys-roll first, then a midi-sys on top of that you should be good.

Hope this makes sense.

Ken
Title: Re: Sys-Midi Systainer on SysRoll?
Post by: Festool USA on January 06, 2014, 02:17 PM
Brian,

Like Ken mentioned, the Sys-Roll cannot accept the SYS-MIDI as the bottom Systainer. But, it could stack on another Systainer. My apologies for the erroneous information on our website. The SYS-MIDI came out after the Sys-Roll and I failed to update it. I have now updated both products on the website to annotate the incompatibility.

If this is a problem, I can help you to work with your dealer to return it.

Sorry.

Shane
Title: Re: Sys-Midi Systainer on SysRoll?
Post by: briankb on January 06, 2014, 02:30 PM
That may work, I'll give it a try later.

That's great you updated the US site so quickly!

It would be awesome if you could offer an "adapter" so the midi could be on the bottom.
Title: Re: Sys-Midi Systainer on SysRoll?
Post by: Festool USA on January 06, 2014, 02:32 PM
It would be awesome if you could offer an "adapter" so the midi could be on the bottom.

We do offer an adapter. It's called SYS-1.  [big grin]
Title: Re: Sys-Midi Systainer on SysRoll?
Post by: briankb on January 06, 2014, 04:24 PM
I just tried and even with a t-lock systainer on bottom and the Sys-MIDI on top of that it does not fit correctly on a Sys-Roll.

And there is no way that it could unless it is sitting above the rails uprights for handle. The systainer sits about 10mm inside the two rails.

Unless I'm missing something...
Title: Re: Sys-Midi Systainer on SysRoll?
Post by: Festool USA on January 06, 2014, 04:49 PM
Brian,

Maybe a dealer can check it out first hand for us. I don't have a SYS-MIDI with me at the moment. If not, I can get back to you tomorrow more than likely with a definitive answer.

Shane
Title: Re: Sys-Midi Systainer on SysRoll?
Post by: Tom Bellemare on January 06, 2014, 04:55 PM
You are correct, Brian!


Tom
Title: Re: Sys-Midi Systainer on SysRoll?
Post by: Festool USA on January 06, 2014, 04:58 PM
Ah... yeah. By rails you mean the uprights for the handle. I forgot the Systainers sit inside of that "L" shape. Well, I guess it won't work at all.  [sad]
Title: Re: Sys-Midi Systainer on SysRoll?
Post by: briankb on January 06, 2014, 05:13 PM
Tom - Thanks for confirming!

Guess I'll look at getting a SYS 4 or 5 to hold those items and see if I can return the SYS-MIDI.