Festool Owners Group

FESTOOL DISCUSSIONS => Ask Festool => Topic started by: williamduncan on July 11, 2021, 07:15 PM

Title: Repair a CT 22 E?
Post by: williamduncan on July 11, 2021, 07:15 PM
When I run my TS 55 plugged into my old CT 22 and put any cutting load on it, it blows the circuit breaker.  Running the CT alone works fine.  Plugging the sander in works fine.  The saw plugged directly into the circuit, not through the CT, works fine.

Is this repairable?
Title: Re: Repair a CT 22 E?
Post by: Cheese on July 11, 2021, 09:02 PM
I’d send it in to Festool for maintenance. The 22/33 series were bulletproof, I like them a lot better than the 26/36 series.
Title: Re: Repair a CT 22 E?
Post by: jeffinsgf on July 11, 2021, 10:00 PM
Has it always done this, or is it a new development? When you say, "blows the breaker" are you talking about a breaker in your electrical panel? I know this sounds weird, but if it is a breaker in your box, try moving it to a plug you know is on a different circuit and try it again. I once had a circuit breaker wear out. It started popping almost any time I started any tool in my shop. Replaced the breaker with a new one of exactly the same amperage, and it never happened again.

If that's not what you're talking about, let's get clear on what is blowing, because I'm with Cheese on this...I would go to great lengths to keep my CT-22 alive instead of replacing it with a new one.
Title: Re: Repair a CT 22 E?
Post by: Alex on July 12, 2021, 01:57 AM
Seems to me like a breaker problem and not a tool problem. I'd check that out first.

If it is tool related, the saw is the first one to look at and not the vac. You should get a watt meter (https://www.amazon.com/watt-meter/s?k=watt+meter) you can plug in between a socket and the tool. They don't cost much and can help determine where the problem might be.
Title: Re: Repair a CT 22 E?
Post by: Crazyraceguy on July 14, 2021, 08:34 PM
I’d send it in to Festool for maintenance. The 22/33 series were bulletproof, I like them a lot better than the 26/36 series.
We had a CT22 in the old shop, before the fire. I don't remember anything that would stand out as better about it? It was fine, never an issue, but neither has my current CT26 and it has a bluetooth module, which was outside the 22s capabilities. As you probably know, I'm in a shop environment, stationary for the most part, if the makes a difference.
Title: Re: Repair a CT 22 E?
Post by: xedos on November 14, 2021, 09:19 AM
Is your circuit 15amps or 20amps.

If 15a - there’s your answer.
Title: Re: Repair a CT 22 E?
Post by: twistsol on November 14, 2021, 06:32 PM
When I remodeled my last house, we had to put in arc fault breakers and I was unable to use my CT33 in combination with any tool or the breaker would trip. I replaced the receptacle on the CT33 itself and all was fine.