Having trouble with your Festool power tool? Well, we're here to help you. Before posting to the forum, give us a chance to diagnose and resolve your issue. In the U.S. and Canada, call us toll-free at 888-337-8600 on Monday-Friday between 8a-5p EST or contact us via email at service@festoolusa.com. For other countries, please visit http://www.festool.com for contact information for your local Festool service department.

Author Topic: Problem with domino  (Read 10106 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chalky

  • Posts: 2
Problem with domino
« on: March 05, 2010, 03:41 PM »
I'm new to the board so I apologize if this has been covered  before.  Today, when I tried to switch to a wider mortise, I could not turn the knob on my domino.   After many tries it finally moved, but will not return to the normal operating setting.   Has anyone else encountered this problem?   Chalky

Festool USA does not pre-approve the contents of this website nor endorse the application or use of any Festool product in any way other than in the manner described in the Festool Instruction Manual. To reduce the risk of serious injury and/or damage to your Festool product, always read, understand and follow all warnings and instructions in your Festool product's Instruction Manual. Although Festool strives for accuracy in the website material, the website may contain inaccuracies. Festool makes no representations about the accuracy, reliability, completeness or timeliness of the material on this website or about the results to be obtained from using the website. Festool and its affiliates cannot be responsible for improper postings or your reliance on the website's material. Your use of any material contained on this website is entirely at your own risk. The content contained on this site is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute professional advice.


Offline Forrest Anderson

  • Posts: 1072
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2010, 03:45 PM »
I'm new to the board so I apologize if this has been covered  before.  Today, when I tried to switch to a wider mortise, I could not turn the knob on my domino.   After many tries it finally moved, but will not return to the normal operating setting.   Has anyone else encountered this problem?   Chalky

It may sound a bit strange, but you should change settings when the Domino is running, not when it's switched off. It's like changing gears in a car with a manual gearbox (stick shift). Try doing that, and it should slip between the three settings easily.

It's covered on page 4 of the Festool manual, which says:

--------------
Setting dowel-hole width
Reliable setting of the dowel-hole width with the rotary switch (1.2) is only possible with the machine running!

The following dowel-hole settings are possible (Fig. 8):

- 13 mm + jointer bit diameter
- 19 mm + jointer bit diameter
- 23 mm + jointer bit diameter
-----------------

It's also mentioned on page 8 of Rick Christopherson's Supplemental Manual, whilst Jerry Work's Getting the Most from the Festool Domino is also an excellent read.

Forrest

« Last Edit: March 05, 2010, 03:58 PM by Forrest Anderson »
Compiler of the Consolidated List of Festool Links - the place to go for Festool reviews, manuals, brochures and videos!

Offline woodguy7

  • Posts: 2727
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2010, 03:51 PM »
Hi Chalky & welcome.

Forrest is right.  When i first got my Donimo I had the same problem & phoned my rep to say it must be faulty.  The answer, try it when switched on.  Worked perfectly.  Same old story, read the manual.  I guess its a man thing, we don't need instructions, do we ?

Woodguy
If its made of wood, i can make it smaller.
Shirt size medium
p.s- ive started reading these too

Offline bruegf

  • Posts: 796
  • Michigan
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2010, 03:52 PM »
Try turning it on and then turning the control.  I seem recall from the first festool end user training that it could "stick" if turned with the unit off, but turning it on should free it up again.

Fred
Fred

Offline Festool USA

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8430
    • Festool USA
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2010, 04:00 PM »
Changing the mortising width knob without the machine running can actually damage the gears.  Like Forrest said, this is in the manual.

http://www.festoolusa.com/media/pdf/475005_003_df500_usa_nl.pdf

Page 10 states:

Quote
CAUTION! Failure to follow the notes below may result in damage to the tool.

- Never force the dial to turn.
- Rotate the adjustment dial only when the motor is running.

- Never rotate the dial during a plunging operation. This can bend or break the mortising bit, and can also damage the machine.

Offline twang120

  • Posts: 39
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2010, 04:35 PM »
I just got my domino and read the supplemental manual and thought I was reading it wrong. It seem counter-intuative.  If gear damge can occur, maybe there should be a tag on the tool when it ships with the warning spelled out.
1010 router, 1400 router, RO150 rotex, C12 Drill, TDK12 drill, TS55 Saw, midi vac, CT22 Vac, MFT3, DTS400, Trion jigsaw, new Domino, DTS400 sander

Offline Inner10

  • Posts: 191
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2010, 05:19 PM »
Most drills you have to gas a bit to get the gears moving to change speeds as-well. 


Offline jonny round boy

  • Posts: 3227
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2010, 07:09 PM »
I don't know why, but I had read the manual as "only change the width setting when the machine is NOT running". I read Rick's supplemental manual too, but never picked up on my error.

I did have trouble switching it on a couple of occasions - obviously the gears weren't aligned - but found that switching the machine on for a just a second often fixed that, as it changed the alignment & allowed the gears to mesh correctly. I never needed to force it.

To me, switching it whilst running seems wrong. Like changing gear in a car without depressing the clutch! Maybe that preconception is what caused me to read the manual wrong. I don't know. But I will get my domino out tomorrow & try it running!
Festoolian since February 2006

TS55R EBQ saw - CTL26 - CTL Mini - OF1400EBQ router - KS120 Kapex SCMS - ETS150/3 sander - RO90 sander - DF500 Domino - PDC18/4 drill - PSC420 jigsaw - OFK500 trimmer

Wish list (in no particular order!): Anything not listed above....

Offline JohnDistai

  • Posts: 216
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2010, 07:24 PM »
I'm glad you guys brought this up.  It really seems counter-intuitive to change the width while running.

Offline Rick Christopherson

  • Retailer
  • *
  • Posts: 1616
    • http://www.rts-engineering.com/
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2010, 08:39 PM »
It isn't so much that real damage will occur either way, but the gears will mesh easier when the tool is running. If you CAN rotate the dial when the tool is not running, then all is fine and the gears are meshing in their new position. However, if the gears do not mesh easily, of course, you can cause damage if you try to force the dial to turn when the gears are not in position to mesh. The mechanism to alter the width of the sweep is very complex, and the gears and yoke need to be in the right position(s).


Offline JohnDistai

  • Posts: 216
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2010, 09:15 PM »
I think we may have an issue at this point.  On one hand we have Shane, who has identified himself as a Festool employee stating that it is possible to damage the gears if switching while off.  On the other hand, we have Rick who may or may not be a Festool employee stating that it will not damage the gears if we switch them while the Domino is off.  I would hate for someone to get into the position of following one person's advice and have it be wrong, damage the tool, and not have it covered in the warranty.  Who's advice is correct?  Also, this demonstrates the importance of a consistent message. 

Offline fshanno

  • Posts: 984
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2010, 10:00 PM »
Of course!  Who would do such a dumb thing!  Not me, that's for sure.  I'd never change that width setting unless the motor is GOOD AND ON!  No way, not in a million years.  Not gonna happen.   

Actually I've been doing the right thing almost from the start but not because it's in the manual.   I found out in the first few of weeks that mine slipped into another setting more reliably when turned on.  So that's the way I've been doing it.  But I thought all along until I saw this thread that it was a PROBLEM!  I thought there was something wrong with my Domino.  My plan was to take it in sometime before the warranty expired and have it checked out.

I think I should go back and read the manual again.  And when I read it this time I'll read it.  Unlike the first time I read it when I didn't read it.

If they had stamped in bold red on the cover.  Secret information!  Festool corporate use only!  I bet I would have read it.  I would have hung breathlessly on every word.
The one thing we learn from history is that we never learn from history.

Offline Peter Halle

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 12057
  • Magnum - My new little boy
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #12 on: March 05, 2010, 10:19 PM »
Switch settings while the tool is operating is what Festool recommends for the operation of the tool.


Offline Brice Burrell

  • Posts: 7371
  • Remodeling Contractor
    • The Green and Dark Blue blog
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #13 on: March 05, 2010, 10:30 PM »
I think we may have an issue at this point.  On one hand we have Shane, who has identified himself as a Festool employee stating that it is possible to damage the gears if switching while off.  On the other hand, we have Rick who may or may not be a Festool employee stating that it will not damage the gears if we switch them while the Domino is off.  I would hate for someone to get into the position of following one person's advice and have it be wrong, damage the tool, and not have it covered in the warranty.  Who's advice is correct?  Also, this demonstrates the importance of a consistent message. 

John, you didn't read Rick's post very carefully. Here it is again:

It isn't so much that real damage will occur either way, but the gears will mesh easier when the tool is running. If you CAN rotate the dial when the tool is not running, then all is fine and the gears are meshing in their new position. However, if the gears do not mesh easily, of course, you can cause damage if you try to force the dial to turn when the gears are not in position to mesh. The mechanism to alter the width of the sweep is very complex, and the gears and yoke need to be in the right position(s).


Rick is not a Festool employee, he only writes the supplemental manuals. 
Check out my new blog, The Green and Dark Blue Blog.

Offline Jarrah67

  • Posts: 12
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2010, 07:03 AM »
It is amazing what great tips you pick up on this forum. I am occasional Domino user but missed that point.

Thank you Forest, Shane, Brice and Rick.

Offline Festool USA

  • Festool USA Employee
    FOG Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8430
    • Festool USA
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2010, 09:37 AM »
On one hand we have Shane, who has identified himself as a Festool employee stating that it is possible to damage the gears if switching while off.  On the other hand, we have Rick who may or may not be a Festool employee stating that it will not damage the gears if we switch them while the Domino is off.  ....  Who's advice is correct?  Also, this demonstrates the importance of a consistent message. 

John, simply put: follow the instructions, and more importantly the warnings, in your owners manual.  The manual states damage may occur if the width setting is changed while the machine is not running.  It does not say specifically what type of damage may result but I have been told gear damage.  Regardless of the type of damage which may result, it's not worth the risk of disregarding this warning.  The manual should supersede any advice given by myself or others.

Offline Terry Fogarty

  • Posts: 401
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2010, 09:56 AM »
Rick is correct. Its impossible to damage it if its not running. The only damage that can occur is to the plastic switch itself. - (this is only my opinion)

 Factory manuals arnt the be all and end all, often the stuff they say is to cover their own [insert inoffensive common term stupid auto filter blocked out] if something does go wrong.  They rarely tell us what we "need "to know, thats why people like Rick are invaluable  writing  manuals with stuff we "do" need to know.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2010, 10:16 AM by Tezzer »
.

Offline JohnDistai

  • Posts: 216
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #17 on: March 06, 2010, 10:49 AM »
Brice,

I did read what Rick wrote.  I was pointing out that we have conflicting advice, one from a Festool source, and one from a non-Festool source.  If I did something to break the tool and then pointed to the non-Festool source as the reasoning for my actions, I don't think Festool would be obligated to cover a warranty repair.

Offline WarnerConstCo.

  • Posts: 4078
    • Warner Mill Works
Re: Problem with domino
« Reply #18 on: March 06, 2010, 03:24 PM »
It's hard to shift gears in a truck if you don't use the clutch when you are supposed to.