Festool Owners Group

FESTOOL DISCUSSIONS => Ask Festool => Topic started by: family on December 21, 2009, 08:23 PM

Title: Festool Level
Post by: family on December 21, 2009, 08:23 PM
Just purchased the Festool Stabila Level. The only problem is the light on the plumb side dosen't work. Is this a dealer problem to solve or will Festool correct it for me if contacted.
Title: Re: Festool Level
Post by: jimbo51 on December 21, 2009, 09:01 PM
I also just bought one and have the same problem. I plan to return it to the dealer. This is rather disappointing on a level that costs so much.
Title: Re: Festool Level
Post by: WarnerConstCo. on December 21, 2009, 09:05 PM
Probably the battery's.

Could have been left turned on some how some way.
Title: Re: Festool Level
Post by: Festool USA on December 21, 2009, 09:06 PM
Out of curiosity, have you swapped the battery from one light to the other?  I suspect it's a dead battery and I wonder if someone turned it on in the store and didn't turn it off.  If it's convenient, return to the dealer for a replacement, if not call us and we will help coordinate getting a replacement sent.

Edit: Darcy beat me to it.
Title: Re: Festool Level
Post by: Tom Bellemare on December 21, 2009, 09:10 PM
Did you try taking out the faulty light module and seeing if you could determine anything that was awry? They can be removed and used like little flashlights.

I just checked all of mine to see if they worked and both lights work.

I don't want to damage the sealing plastic so I use something I learned accidentally. If you take another Stabila level with a magnet, like a torpedo level, and pass the magnet around the "Lights" from a "The Lights" level, you can cause the light to come on. I can check them without even actually touching them.

It's also a great magic trick for kids...


Edit... I also think it's likely the battery but I thought you'd like this trick too.


Tom
Title: Re: Festool Level
Post by: WarnerConstCo. on December 21, 2009, 10:30 PM
I am only saying this because the first time I used mine, I left the light on. 
Now if I can only find the screws and the parts to put it back together, oh and a couple of battery's.

By the way, there is really nothing inside the little lights to really go bad, except for losing the screws.

I might have to buy a new light for mine, can I get one?
Title: Re: Festool Level
Post by: Charimon on December 21, 2009, 11:10 PM


WOW....Stabilla shure dropped the ball on that one.  [eek]


It only makes sense to put a timer on any light that is used for an intermittent task.

Craig
Title: Re: Festool Level
Post by: WarnerConstCo. on December 21, 2009, 11:30 PM
I left the light on, on my head lamp/drill light the first day I got it.

I am seeing a patteren here, I wonder if my 4 year old had anything to do with this?
Title: Re: Festool Level
Post by: family on December 22, 2009, 05:40 AM
Thanks Friends for responding to my question. Mr. Tom, your magnet trick was mind blowing, I tried it and the one that was working came on as you said and the other did not respond at all. Neat trick as you said to check for this problem. Mr. Shane, Thank You, sir, for responding and no I haven't tried to exchange batteries for fear of voiding the warranty. I feel, sir, for the amount of money invested in such precision equipment things of this nature should be left to qualified repair personnel. I am as all men like to tinker with things but I know when to leave well enough alone. The dealer only purchased two of the levels and told me the other day he sold the second one. It looks like they order new Festool products only when I request something and add an extra for display. I think I am their biggest Festool customer in that store and they use me as reference for explaining and selling the Festool line to other regulars. Mr. Shane it would be quicker if Festool would just send me a replacement light and we could be over this problem. This would save me 70 miles of round trip driving to replace. I have already invested $150.00 in the level and would like to avoid extra cost associated with gasoline and traveling for something this simple. Would this be possible, sir.     
Title: Re: Festool Level
Post by: Tom Bellemare on December 22, 2009, 10:05 AM
Quote
I might have to buy a new light for mine, can I get one?

I can get them from Stabila at $12.99 for a pack of two.


Tom
Title: Re: Festool Level
Post by: WarnerConstCo. on December 22, 2009, 09:18 PM
Quote
I might have to buy a new light for mine, can I get one?

I can get them from Stabila at $12.99 for a pack of two.


Tom

I am going to go and see if I can find the right battery's first.  The batterys probably cost almost that much!!
Title: Re: Festool Level
Post by: WarnerConstCo. on December 22, 2009, 09:21 PM
Thanks Friends for responding to my question. Mr. Tom, your magnet trick was mind blowing, I tried it and the one that was working came on as you said and the other did not respond at all. Neat trick as you said to check for this problem. Mr. Shane, Thank You, sir, for responding and no I haven't tried to exchange batteries for fear of voiding the warranty. I feel, sir, for the amount of money invested in such precision equipment things of this nature should be left to qualified repair personnel. I am as all men like to tinker with things but I know when to leave well enough alone. The dealer only purchased two of the levels and told me the other day he sold the second one. It looks like they order new Festool products only when I request something and add an extra for display. I think I am their biggest Festool customer in that store and they use me as reference for explaining and selling the Festool line to other regulars. Mr. Shane it would be quicker if Festool would just send me a replacement light and we could be over this problem. This would save me 70 miles of round trip driving to replace. I have already invested $150.00 in the level and would like to avoid extra cost associated with gasoline and traveling for something this simple. Would this be possible, sir.     


You have to take the light apart to change the battery's.  You will have to do that someday, no one will send you replacements when the battery's die.

It is 4 little screws and then one screw holds the battery's in.  I am pretty sure battery's are not a covered part. 

Just go get some battery's, I bet any drug store or all-in-one mart would have them.  I have been too busy to check.
Title: Re: Festool Level
Post by: Tom Bellemare on December 23, 2009, 01:58 AM
If you're around here, just come on by,

If you're not, just call me...

Tom
Title: Re: Festool Level
Post by: family on December 23, 2009, 05:08 AM
I agree that the batteries are not covered under warranty and if the level was several months or more old then I wouldn't be asking repair questions on the forum. The fact is I have just taken the plastic off of it and discovered the light not working. I expect as you and other friends do for newly purchased items to work when unboxed or unwrapped for the first time. I don't know if it's the batteries or not and unwilling on newly purchased tools to explore. Could have been damaged internally in shipping..who knows. I can say that from reading on this forum of others tell of the fantastic service received from Festool that it is a fact and true. A representative of Festool contacted me promptly and agreed to send me a replacement light to fix my problem. A customer, any customer can't ask for any better service than that. Options offered were return for complete exchange, light replacement and the last statement was... what ever would make you happy with the product. How many times do you here that statement in todays business world. At this point all I can say is "Thank You" Festool for solving my tool problem and I will return to your tool displays to purchase again.       
Title: Re: Festool Level
Post by: jimbo51 on December 23, 2009, 09:44 AM
I agree with Family. I also have been contacted by Festool about getting a replacement.  This saves the dealer some effort. As I do not need to use it immediately, this is a reasonable fix. Though it would be better for the tool to be right in the first place, this issue is minor compared to the complaints over on the photo forum I visit regarding quality control in new cameras.