Festool Owners Group

FESTOOL DISCUSSIONS => Ask Festool => Topic started by: copcarcollector on October 10, 2019, 05:01 PM

Title: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: copcarcollector on October 10, 2019, 05:01 PM
@Festool USA

There have been mentions here about an upgrade kit for the Cyclone, straps and / or other parts. One member said he was able to call and get the kit for free from FUSA, however posts today on Facebook indicate there is a charge for the kit. Can someone from FUSA please elaborate:
Part #
Cost or free
How to obtain one

Thanks
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: ColossusX on October 10, 2019, 06:52 PM
Following
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: papester on October 10, 2019, 10:33 PM
I was just looking for the part numbers on the Festool site and they still show the original latches.
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: Master Carpenter on October 11, 2019, 09:56 AM
I enquired recently at my local dealer and was told they will definitely not be free.
Also that they weren’t available yet.
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: Don T on October 11, 2019, 11:07 AM
Following
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: threesixright on October 11, 2019, 11:59 AM
Part #205239 ~ 23 EUR / 25 USD.

EU for sure paid. Would be pretty sad and weird if FT would charge one country, but not the other.

Also not sure how useful it is. For sure not a must have.


Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: jobsworth on October 11, 2019, 08:10 PM
The upgrade kit available. I called festool parts axed them for it they sent it to me no charge and free shipping. If yer charged (which I dont see why you would be) the cost is $24.  I got mine today and it was easy to install.

Hope this helps
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: papester on October 12, 2019, 12:18 AM
The upgrade kit available. I called festool parts axed them for it they sent it to me no charge and free shipping. If yer charged (which I dont see why you would be) the cost is $24.  I got mine today and it was easy to install.

Hope this helps

Do you have a part number?
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: jobsworth on October 12, 2019, 11:02 AM
The upgrade kit available. I called festool parts axed them for it they sent it to me no charge and free shipping. If yer charged (which I dont see why you would be) the cost is $24.  I got mine today and it was easy to install.

Hope this helps

Do you have a part number?

Part #205239
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: threesixright on October 14, 2019, 05:03 PM
Do you have a part number?
You got to be kidding me...  [eek]
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: grobkuschelig on October 18, 2019, 05:42 PM
@threesixright reading is a gift not shared with many.. ;)
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: papester on October 18, 2019, 10:52 PM
grobkuschelig,

I guess we can't all be as quick and intelligent as you are. Next time maybe you should keep your insults to yourself since your reply added no value to this thread.

Or did I read it incorrectly?
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: morts10n on October 19, 2019, 08:03 PM
I inquired about the upgrade kit from Festool USA.The woman that answered the phone asked if I was in their system..... then replied that it was on it's way tomorrow, without asking for payment.
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: jobsworth on October 20, 2019, 12:31 PM
 [cool] [cool] [cool]
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: Joelm on October 25, 2019, 03:45 PM
I just got off the phone with someone at Festool USA and was asked for a credit card. Not sure why when some are getting the upgrade kit for free.
Looking forward to it so my cyclone doesn't tip over anymore.
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: Sbradley0911 on October 25, 2019, 06:08 PM
I also called festool about the upgrade kit and was told that its not free and costs about $25
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: morts10n on October 25, 2019, 06:18 PM
I was also asked whether I had purchased anything else in the past directly from them
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: copcarcollector on October 25, 2019, 07:36 PM
So nice that someone from festool USA has taken the time to respond and explain why some are getting these parts for free and others are not...
@Festool USA
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: jobsworth on October 26, 2019, 02:57 PM
Maybe if ya dont buy directly from Festool where they have a record of your purchases, you may  have to go through your dealer.

Though I buy my tools from B&M I buy a lot of parts directly through FT so they have a record of my purchases . Even though I didnt buy my Cyclone through them.

Ya might want to call FT for clarification  [popcorn]
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: StanB on October 26, 2019, 03:37 PM
Does this upgrade kit come with new units?
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: jobsworth on October 26, 2019, 06:07 PM
@blasczsj

From what I understand Yes
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: Solowfr on October 27, 2019, 09:06 PM
Has Festool considered increasing the cfm’s of the dust extractors as the size increases. In other words the CT 48 should have greater suction capabilities than the CT 26. It’s not good enough that the bag size increases, the suction power should also increase. I would also like to see the ability to run multiply tools on the same dust extractor. The bigger dust extractors should be able to handle several tools at one time, rather changing the hose connect fir each tool being used. As a professional, I’m using multiple tools through out the day. I keep wearing out the hose ends from changing tools so frequently.
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: Gregor on October 28, 2019, 03:25 PM
Has Festool considered increasing the cfm’s of the dust extractors as the size increases. In other words the CT 48 should have greater suction capabilities than the CT 26. It’s not good enough that the bag size increases, the suction power should also increase.
I would suggest you get a high CFM shop-VAC in case that is you need. I like the 26/36/48 having the same top, so one can swap the bins depending on how big it needs to be. (hint: buying one size and getting the different size bin can be cheaper than getting one with different size bin in the first place).
IMHO the CFM for the CT is enough for what they're ment to do. While it could be higher it would also likely bring an increase in noise... so I think they're OK as-is.
Quote
I would also like to see the ability to run multiply tools on the same dust extractor. The bigger dust extractors should be able to handle several tools at one time, rather changing the hose connect fir each tool being used. As a professional, I’m using multiple tools through out the day. I keep wearing out the hose ends from changing tools so frequently.
Get #452898 (Y-connector), 2x #497926 (blast gate), #202097 or #496405 (bluetoth module or second auto socket) a another hose (normal or sleeved with power cord, depending on bluetooth or not)?

Back on topic I can report having received the upgrade kit at no cost as an act of fairness in trade (I hope the translation of Kulanz is correct). Possibly since I ordered spare parts anyway (which I do on a regular basis as I fix out of warranty / obtained used tools myself) so there was no shipping for them. Possibly because I asked nicely, after haved stated that the existence of that kit that short after initial introduction of the CT-VA being an indication of a shortcoming in the design process. Possibly because I mentioned reports on the FOG of that kit being sent to US costomers at not cost.
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: Jiggy Joiner on October 28, 2019, 03:46 PM
I’m pretty sure, many would then be unhappy at having to buy a bigger vacuum to get the power.
I think it’s what makes the compact models popular, they have similar or the same power as the larger models.
Running multiple tools together sounds like a good idea but, this would almost certainly mean bigger heavier motors, filters and hoses.
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: ColossusX on October 28, 2019, 07:27 PM
I contacted Festool USA and they want to charge for it.  Not very happy about it.
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: Vondawg on October 29, 2019, 08:33 AM
In comparison to prices we pay for Festool(s) $25 bucks I don’t see as a problem. Sure one can argue it should have been there in the first place ..but it wasn’t...We all make jigs and rig up things to accomplish what we’re trying to do with a particular problem task, so fastening top to bottom isn’t a complicated thing. 
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: PeterJJames13 on October 29, 2019, 09:09 AM
I called yesterday. At first, they said they would have to charge me as well. I very politely said, I didn't think it was right to punish the early adopters by charging for a part that they now include. I backed off and told them I'd pay if I had to, but it didn't seem right to charge for something that's now in the scope of delivery when it should have been included in the first place. I also offered up to email a copy of the receipt showing I got mine the first week it was out (the receipt was already on my screen ready to be emailed) to prove when I purchased mine. They ended up saying they would send it out at no charge to me. So while I'm glad they did the right thing and didn't charge me, I would have paid the $25 to have it to alleviate the issue of it tipping over.
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: jobsworth on October 29, 2019, 12:16 PM
I called yesterday. At first, they said they would have to charge me as well. I very politely said, I didn't think it was right to punish the early adopters by charging for a part that they now include. I backed off and told them I'd pay if I had to, but it didn't seem right to charge for something that's now in the scope of delivery when it should have been included in the first place. I also offered up to email a copy of the receipt showing I got mine the first week it was out (the receipt was already on my screen ready to be emailed) to prove when I purchased mine. They ended up saying they would send it out at no charge to me. So while I'm glad they did the right thing and didn't charge me, I would have paid the $25 to have it to alleviate the issue of it tipping over.

I pretty much did the same thing, called gave them the P/N they said it will cost $24.

POLITELY, CALMLY AND NICELY, I told them I have the cyclone bought it before the upgrade was available, they axed me for my phone number pulled up my account and sent it to me free of charge.

Maybe its the approach. Dont knowif my dealer registered it for me or even if its someting that can be registered.

 Ive never had a problem with them and even had some small bits given and sent to me free of charge.
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: PeterJJames13 on October 29, 2019, 01:16 PM
I don't know if this is considered a tool or an accessory so I don't think it would be registered - I could be wrong. I know I never registered it myself. Like I said, I also was willing and able to send a copy of my sales receipt - it was already pulled up ready to go. At the end of the day, I would have paid for it, though I felt like I shouldn't have to.
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: usernumber1 on October 29, 2019, 01:29 PM
should be considered a 'missing part' honestly . maybe that's how some dealers key it in for the no-charge
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: PeterJJames13 on October 29, 2019, 03:18 PM
Yes, could be considered a missing part. But like most things in life....just be nice about it.
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: ADKMedic on November 08, 2019, 04:39 PM
It should definitely be considered a missing part.  I was just told I would have to buy it.  I asked to talk to the supervisor, and he is conveniently on vacation and she was not allowed to transfer me to anyone else.

I guess Festool’s customer service costs $24.

Mark me as very disappointed.

Andy
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: Joelm on November 08, 2019, 09:59 PM
Mine was delivered this week (I paid $24). The latch replaces the old one and the foam bit creates a nice seal.

I wouldn't have said no to free but I'm glad I bought it and don't have to worry about my stack of systainers falling over.
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: jobsworth on November 09, 2019, 11:23 AM
@box185




Id call LV

 Im sure theyll take care of ya.

I just let Rob know see message below
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: jobsworth on November 09, 2019, 11:31 AM
Does this upgrade kit come with new units?

Ordered a Festool CT VA 20 Cyclone from Lee Valley - received on 08 November, but without the upgrade kit. Other people may have a different experience.

@Rob Lee

Please see boxes message
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: jobsworth on November 09, 2019, 12:45 PM
thereya go. I guess it depends on the day they got that cyclone they sold you whether it was before the upgrade or after.

I knew Rob would make it right. Theyre pretty good about things like this
Title: Re: Cyclone "Upgrade" Kit - Available, Free or...?
Post by: ADKMedic on November 09, 2019, 08:58 PM
@jobsworth - Unfortunately, I'm on the East Coast...  LOL

Andy